• Register
  • TOS
  • Privacy
  • @NeoGAF
  • Like

theultimo
Member
(03-17-2017, 05:58 PM)
Looks to have the same mgr refresh rate issue in fullscreen that i have (30hz indtead of 60)

6600k
16gb ddr4
1060 6gb
Win 10 14393

Borderless is fine with BG
SomedayTheFire
Member
(03-17-2017, 05:58 PM)
SomedayTheFire's Avatar
Anyone with a 1060 reporting in?

Great Timing lol
capylikesgames
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:00 PM)
capylikesgames's Avatar

Originally Posted by SomedayTheFire

Anyone with a 1060 reporting in?

Great Timing lol

I will be, soon enough. Only like 4 more gigs to go!
Trickster
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:00 PM)
Trickster's Avatar
I'm getting transparent bars on the top and bottom of my screen during cutscenes. Anyone that knows if thats normal?
PhaZZe
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:00 PM)
PhaZZe's Avatar

Originally Posted by Kindekuma

High Preset
(8x AA, 16x TF, Blur On, Shadows and Effects on High, and AO on).

you makes me happy dude :) thanks
Levito
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:01 PM)
Levito's Avatar

Originally Posted by Trickster

I'm getting transparent bars on the top and bottom of my screen during cutscenes. Anyone that knows if thats normal?

This is a stylistic thing that's in the PS4 version too. I think the original Nier had this too.
Slater
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:01 PM)
Slater's Avatar

Originally Posted by Trickster

I'm getting transparent bars on the top and bottom of my screen during cutscenes. Anyone that knows if thats normal?

Yes it's a part of both Nier games
raven777
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:01 PM)
raven777's Avatar

Originally Posted by Trickster

I'm getting transparent bars on the top and bottom of my screen during cutscenes. Anyone that knows if thats normal?

it's suppose to be there.
theultimo
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:01 PM)

Originally Posted by Deepo

Runs well enough, but I seem to be experiencing the same thing I did with Metal Gear Revengeance. The game seems to be skipping a frame or 2 every other second, causing stutter. Not all the time, but consistenly every 2 seconds or so. Seems like a timing issue. Small thing, but annoying as fuck.

Anyone else seeing this?

5820K@4.5GHz
Titan XP@2000Mhz
16GB RAM@2666Mhz
Windows 10
2880x1620 resolution

Check to see if you monitor is locked at 30hz, i have to run windowed to fix it, something with my tv edid.
Shari
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:01 PM)
Shari's Avatar

Originally Posted by TheSpoiler

FX4300
R9 290x
8GB

Can you run it says I'm good to go on both sides but I don't trust that.

That's not a toaster mate. The problem with this game is that its either hit or miss, there aren't many graphical options to play with and I don't think it would be a pleasant experience under 60 fps.

I'd say wait a little on more reports or buy on steam and refund if it doesn't work as you would expect.
Samaritan
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:01 PM)
Samaritan's Avatar

Originally Posted by Trickster

I'm getting transparent bars on the top and bottom of my screen during cutscenes. Anyone that knows if thats normal?

That's a NieR thing, don't worry about it. You'll get used to it with time.
CheesecakeRecipe
Stormy Grey
(03-17-2017, 06:02 PM)
CheesecakeRecipe's Avatar
They weren't kidding with the system requirements this time, it seems. My 660 is far below the 'minimum' spec of a 770, and it runs in the single digits, even with everything on low. If you've got an older GPU like me, you're probably going to want to stay away until you can manage to upgrade.

i5 4670k 3.4ghz
GTX 660 2GB
8GB RAM
Windows 8.1 64-bit
ToKre
Junior Member
(03-17-2017, 06:02 PM)
ToKre's Avatar
its the full screen btw , leave it in window mode and use the borderless gaming it works much better

anyone knows why my ps4 controller doesn't work with this game i thought steam supported it natively.
Afro
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:03 PM)
Afro's Avatar
Frame pacing fine?
VlaudTheImpaler
tl;dr
(03-17-2017, 06:03 PM)
VlaudTheImpaler's Avatar
Just woke up. 3440x1440 support in? How is the 21:9 support?

Just about ready to pull the trigger and download but need to know this first.

Also, how is the framerate/pacing?
TheSpoiler
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:03 PM)
TheSpoiler's Avatar

Originally Posted by Shari

That's not a toaster mate. The problem with this game is that its either hit or miss, there aren't many graphical options to play with and I don't think it would be a pleasant experience under 60 fps.

I'd say wait a little on more reports or buy on steam and refund if it doesn't work as you would expect.

Yeah I'll wait a little bit. Don't wanna get my hopes up and have it run like ass.
Gbraga
Junior Member
(03-17-2017, 06:04 PM)
Gbraga's Avatar

Originally Posted by CheesecakeRecipe

They weren't kidding with the system requirements this time, it seems. My 660 is far below the 'minimum' spec of a 770, and it runs in the single digits, even with everything on low. If you've got an older GPU like me, you're probably going to want to stay away until you can manage to upgrade.

i5 4670k 3.4ghz
GTX 660 2GB
8GB RAM
Windows 8.1 64-bit

Wow, single digits? That's worrying.

I need a new GPU :C
Spinky
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:04 PM)
Spinky's Avatar
I fixed the insane lag in the menus by going into the Nvidia Control Panel and forcing it to run on my 1060.

Fullscreen still on a lower resolution though, gonna try this Borderless thing.

EDIT: OK yeah, BG solved that too.
Last edited by Spinky; 03-17-2017 at 06:06 PM.
eero94
Junior Member
(03-17-2017, 06:04 PM)
1440p gameplay with GTX 1080 and performance stats in osd:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCrcnxswVMQ
Grief.exe
Don't stop believin'~~~ hold on to the feeling
(03-17-2017, 06:05 PM)
Grief.exe's Avatar

Originally Posted by ToKre

its the full screen btw , leave it in window mode and use the borderless gaming it works much better

anyone knows why my ps4 controller doesn't work with this game i thought steam supported it natively.

I believe you have to set that up in Steam settings. I don't know if Platinum has to support that API , or whether that just works natively since I haven't used Steam for that yet.

Originally Posted by VlaudTheImpaler

Just woke up. 3440x1440 support in? How is the 21:9 support?

Just about ready to pull the trigger and download but need to know this first.

Also, how is the framerate/pacing?

21:9 confirmed. Need to use Borderless windowed though.
Trickster
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:06 PM)
Trickster's Avatar

Originally Posted by Slater

Yes it's a part of both Nier games

Alright good good, was wondering if it was because of subtitles or something silly
JaseC
gave away the keys to the kingdom.
(03-17-2017, 06:06 PM)
JaseC's Avatar

Originally Posted by Gbraga

Wow, single digits? That's worrying.

I need a new GPU :C

Could be a VRAM issue.

Edit: Oh, 660, not 960. But, well, still!
TrueHero
Junior Member
(03-17-2017, 06:06 PM)
TrueHero's Avatar
Getting some interesting performance.

I have a 980ti/ I7 4790k

The game looks somehow worse than when i played it on my ps4 pro? and the screen tearing is dreadful. Didn't expect this to be a great port but man, this kinda sucks :/

Edit: Durante save us
Last edited by TrueHero; 03-17-2017 at 06:12 PM.
Parsnip
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:07 PM)
Parsnip's Avatar

Originally Posted by CheesecakeRecipe

They weren't kidding with the system requirements this time, it seems. My 660 is far below the 'minimum' spec of a 770, and it runs in the single digits, even with everything on low. If you've got an older GPU like me, you're probably going to want to stay away until you can manage to upgrade.

i5 4670k 3.4ghz
GTX 660 2GB
8GB RAM
Windows 8.1 64-bit

What resolution were you running it on?
VlaudTheImpaler
tl;dr
(03-17-2017, 06:07 PM)
VlaudTheImpaler's Avatar

Originally Posted by Grief.exe

21:9 confirmed. Need to use Borderless windowed though.

Sweet, but one more thing. I know that I could get transformers to work at 21:9 but it would only let me set it at 1080p... Does this support my native screen res at 3440X1440?
Duxxy3
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:07 PM)
Duxxy3's Avatar
The more and more I play PC games (at least modern ones) the more I wonder if fullscreen should even be an option. Borderless window seems to fix so many issues in so many games.
Felix Lighter
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:08 PM)
Felix Lighter's Avatar

Originally Posted by Spinky

I fixed the insane lag in the menus by going into the Nvidia Control Panel and forcing it to run on my 1060.

Fullscreen still on a lower resolution though, gonna try this Borderless thing.

Oh, Optimus laptop issue. That tech seems to cause issues at times.

Originally Posted by Duxxy3

The more and more I play PC games (at least modern ones) the more I wonder if fullscreen should even be an option. Borderless window seems to fix so many issues in so many games.

Windowed mode is virtually unusable for most games that support SLI.
T-Rex.
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:08 PM)
T-Rex.'s Avatar

Keeps crashing on my RX 480 8GB :/

I have the latest drivers installed as well.
Nzyme32
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:08 PM)
Nzyme32's Avatar

Originally Posted by eero94

1440p gameplay with GTX 1080 and performance stats in osd:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCrcnxswVMQ

Apart from the compression of the video, only annoying thing is pre-rendered cutscenes forcing 30fps.
lkx777
Junior Member
(03-17-2017, 06:08 PM)
lkx777's Avatar

Originally Posted by guybrushfreeman

Seems like a 60fps cap. Even if I drop the res real low I only get 60

Why am I not surprised?

Will buy when it's available for two bucks on cdkeys I guess
McStickenstein
Junior Member
(03-17-2017, 06:09 PM)
McStickenstein's Avatar

Originally Posted by T-Rex.

Keeps crashing on my RX 480 8GB :/

I have the latest drivers installed as well.

No please! I have that card too :/

It says that "Big Picture must exit" so maybe try turning that off and/or disabling the Steam overlay?

C'mon GAF, let's see the high res screenshots. For science.
Levito
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:09 PM)
Levito's Avatar
So impressions on this port seem fairly mixed so far? that's a shame...
NeoRaider
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:09 PM)
NeoRaider's Avatar

Originally Posted by T-Rex.

Keeps crashing on my RX 480 8GB :/

I have the latest drivers installed as well.

17.3.2?
GhostTrick
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:10 PM)
GhostTrick's Avatar
Running at locked 60fps with everything at max except anti-aliasing set at x2 and at 1080p. R9 290 here and stock i5 4430.
Nzyme32
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:10 PM)
Nzyme32's Avatar

Originally Posted by T-Rex.

Keeps crashing on my RX 480 8GB :/

I have the latest drivers installed as well.

That's an error with big picture mode, not the game. But it seems that the game crashing is what caused the issue. Perhaps disable the steam overlay and don't use BPM. See what happens. I expect the game will still crash, but at least you rule steam out. At that point I'd consider changing settings or looking for an ini if you can't get that far
T-Rex.
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:11 PM)
T-Rex.'s Avatar

Originally Posted by McStickenstein

No please! I have that card too :/

C'mon GAF, let's see the high res screenshots. For science.

It was running pretty well at 60fps as well lol but twice it's crashed in the same spot.

Originally Posted by NeoRaider

17.3.2?

Yeah.
UrbanRats
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:11 PM)
UrbanRats's Avatar
So having to play windowed, DSR is out of the question?
Shari
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:11 PM)
Shari's Avatar

Originally Posted by GhostTrick

Running at locked 60fps with everything at max except anti-aliasing set at x2 and at 1080p. R9 290 here and stock i5 4430.

That sounds promising for you @TheSpoiler!
shiyrley
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:12 PM)
shiyrley's Avatar
So is a 1070 enough for 1440p maxed out (except AA) at rock solid 60 fps?
Fahzgoolin
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:12 PM)
Fahzgoolin's Avatar
I must be an emo, cuz I LOVE the color pallette of this game ;)
ToKre
Junior Member
(03-17-2017, 06:12 PM)
ToKre's Avatar

Originally Posted by Grief.exe

I believe you have to set that up in Steam settings. I don't know if Platinum has to support that API , or whether that just works natively since I haven't used Steam for that yet.



21:9 confirmed. Need to use Borderless windowed though.

thanks that worked i thought it was plug and play but it needed to be activited from the settings

-

windowed mode with borderless gaming is a must till they fix the issue with full screen.
Hubb
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:12 PM)
Hubb's Avatar

Originally Posted by GhostTrick

Running at locked 60fps with everything at max except anti-aliasing set at x2 and at 1080p. R9 290 here and stock i5 4430.

Good to hear, we have a similar setup. Looking forward to jumping into this game later.
Robobandit
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:13 PM)
Robobandit's Avatar
The controller button mapping seems to have X and Y reversed.. at least for me.

I thought the controls were being unresponsive, but despite the in-game config saying X was light attack and Y was heavy attack, they were swapped.

Anyone else seeing this? I just remapped them in-game and it's working like it is supposed to. (that is, I told it I wanted light attack on Y and heavy on X and it is now working like I would expect)
Lime
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:13 PM)
Lime's Avatar
4K with 2xMSAA









Shot of cutscene (doesn't look prerendered to me but maybe I need glasses)

guybrushfreeman
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:13 PM)
guybrushfreeman's Avatar

Originally Posted by shiyrley

So is a 1070 enough for 1440p maxed out (except AA) at rock solid 60 fps?

Yes, I'm getting locked 60 without AA and a few drops into the 50s with 2x AA

i5-4960K @ 4.5GHz
CheesecakeRecipe
Stormy Grey
(03-17-2017, 06:14 PM)
CheesecakeRecipe's Avatar

Originally Posted by Parsnip

What resolution were you running it on?

1080p through borderless gaming. I tried dropping the resolution, but it didn't make a significant enough improvement.
SimpleGamer
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:14 PM)
SimpleGamer's Avatar
How's it running for people with a i5 6500 + 1070 combo?
Fahzgoolin
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:15 PM)
Fahzgoolin's Avatar
For 1080p users that want to squeeze out more frames but enjoy the 21:9 aspect ratio, create a 1920x810 resolution in your GPU control panel. I do this in almost every game now.

Does anyone know if SweetFX/Reshade works?
GinoFelino
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:15 PM)
GinoFelino's Avatar
Running smooth as butter on 7700K, GTX 1080, 16 GB

Everything on high etc.
Felix Lighter
Member
(03-17-2017, 06:15 PM)
Felix Lighter's Avatar
Looking forward to true benchmarks, now. Conflicting reports so far but maybe related to broken fullscreen mode.

Thread Tools