• Register
  • TOS
  • Privacy
  • @NeoGAF
  • Like

dEvAnGeL
Member
(10-10-2017, 06:49 PM)
dEvAnGeL's Avatar
Anyone with a 980ti? How does it run?
scitek
Member
(10-10-2017, 06:50 PM)
scitek's Avatar

Originally Posted by gdt

Hmm really? Iíd love a confirmation

If you turn HDR on in the Windows display settings, it turns it on in game. Check the brightness settings in the game menu for confirmation.
terencecah
Member
(10-10-2017, 06:53 PM)
terencecah's Avatar
So should nvidia users use the new drivers ?
spad3
Member
(10-10-2017, 07:01 PM)
spad3's Avatar
Genuinely surprised that the game can't push Ultra Textures on an 8GB GTX 1080...wut?!
Nyteshade517
Member
(10-10-2017, 07:18 PM)
Nyteshade517's Avatar

Originally Posted by Tovarisc

If you hear clear audio pop then it isn't how it's supposed to be, but is bugged.

Uninstalling 4k video pack fixes it and makes those few seconds clip play out like intended.

yeah...I uninstalled the 4K Cinematics DLC and those little clips no longer have the audio pop at the end
scitek
Member
(10-10-2017, 07:19 PM)
scitek's Avatar

Originally Posted by spad3

Genuinely surprised that the game can't push Ultra Textures on an 8GB GTX 1080...wut?!

*at 4K
PeterVenkman
Member
(10-10-2017, 07:19 PM)
PeterVenkman's Avatar

Originally Posted by Tizoc

I did the following
1- i set the .exe to 'disable dpi scaling'
2- ran the game, but it still crashed on startup
3- it created the .cfg in documents thankfully. I set it to borderless and so far no crashes but we will see

Iíll try this when I get home, but I think verifying the game vi steam fixed my issues finally.

Originally Posted by dEvAnGeL

Anyone with a 980ti? How does it run?

It runs well. I actually am running it at 4K but with dynamic resolution and 60 FPS target - I suspect itís more frequently running around 1440p as that was the highest resolution I could push without noticing drops. Everything maxed except textures because for some reason those are barred unless you have 8GB VRAM.

I tend not to really optimize settings when dynamic resolution is included, but I can test out more specific settings if you need me to.
dEvAnGeL
Member
(10-10-2017, 07:27 PM)
dEvAnGeL's Avatar

Originally Posted by PeterVenkman

Iíll try this when I get home, but I think verifying the game vi steam fixed my issues finally.



It runs well. I actually am running it at 4K but with dynamic resolution and 60 FPS target - I suspect itís more frequently running around 1440p as that was the highest resolution I could push without noticing drops. Everything maxed except textures because for some reason those are barred unless you have 8GB VRAM.

I tend not to really optimize settings when dynamic resolution is included, but I can test out more specific settings if you need me to.

Thank you, i would appreciate to know what settings can give me a locked 60 at 1440p, i have the 980ti paired with a i7 2600k at 4.5 and 16 gigs of ram.
SirMossyBloke
Member
(10-10-2017, 07:33 PM)
SirMossyBloke's Avatar
4690k @ 4.2ghz, 16GB and GTX 1080.

Running everything on Ultra aside from shadows which are high, just so the vram usage dips below 8gb slightly. Running FXAA instead of TAA.

Runs at a solid 60fps at 1080p. Not really surprising performance, and the 4k textures look sharp.
JaseC
gave away the keys to the kingdom.
(10-10-2017, 07:35 PM)
JaseC's Avatar

Originally Posted by MikeBison

how do you actually install the hd texture pack? Mine says it downloaded but isn't installed.

You're not basing that on the in-game texture quality setting, are you? Its description doesn't change based on whether the pack is installed.

Originally Posted by scitek

*at 4K

I think he's referring to the VRAM usage meter in the OP. 8266MB is only a smidge higher than 8192MB, though, so it's very possible 8GB is actually just enough.
keltickennedy
ah can't conversate
(10-10-2017, 07:38 PM)
keltickennedy's Avatar

Originally Posted by dEvAnGeL

Anyone with a 980ti? How does it run?

I got everything maxed except textures since it needs 8GB VRAM and I locked the FPS to 60.

I think im going to turn off the TXAA and try downsampling from 1440. I don't like the way it is slightly blurring the image.
dr_rus
Member
(10-10-2017, 07:39 PM)
dr_rus's Avatar
About AB/RTSS OSD problems:

Originally Posted by https://forums.guru3d.com/posts/5480368

Got Shadow of War purchased, downloaded and installed and nailed it down. The problem is that it is the first D3D11 engine, which is using Direct3D 12.1 feature level. My OSD renderer fail to compile shaders in such case and cannot display OSD. I've already patched it, it will be addressed in new RTSS beta.

Eclectic Sk3ptic
Junior Member
(10-10-2017, 07:43 PM)
Eclectic Sk3ptic's Avatar

Originally Posted by dr_rus

About AB/RTSS OSD problems:

Thanks, I was wondering why it wasn't working unless I set the rendering mode to vector 2D.
dEvAnGeL
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:21 PM)
dEvAnGeL's Avatar

Originally Posted by keltickennedy

I got everything maxed except textures since it needs 8GB VRAM and I locked the FPS to 60.

I think im going to turn off the TXAA and try downsampling from 1440. I don't like the way it is slightly blurring the image.

Thank you.
Poot Poot Splash
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:23 PM)
Poot Poot Splash's Avatar
My really shitty Threadripper build
1950x oced to 4.0
32gigs of 3200
GTX 1080

Runs the benchmark at 26 fps at 1440P.

Actually it runs all games horribly. Changing to 1080P does nothing. Still bad performance. I have no idea anymore.
Duchess O'Death
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:25 PM)
Duchess O'Death's Avatar

Originally Posted by scitek

If you turn HDR on in the Windows display settings, it turns it on in game. Check the brightness settings in the game menu for confirmation.

Thank you for the confirmation.

JaseC, Can we have this tip in the OP?
Mookow
Junior Member
(10-10-2017, 08:29 PM)

Originally Posted by Poot Poot Splash

My really shitty Threadripper build
1950x oced to 4.0
32gigs of 3200
GTX 1080

Runs the benchmark at 26 fps at 1440P.

Actually it runs all games horribly. Changing to 1080P does nothing. Still bad performance. I have no idea anymore.

Yeah, seems like we are in the same boat with my 1800x/1080ti. Something isn't right, and I don't know what to check/change now. Resolution and settings drop doesn't improve FPS.
robotrock
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:31 PM)
robotrock's Avatar
Trying to get 60fps 1440p on a 970 without dynamic resolution scaling
FHIZ
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:31 PM)
FHIZ's Avatar

Originally Posted by Poot Poot Splash

My really shitty Threadripper build
1950x oced to 4.0
32gigs of 3200
GTX 1080

Runs the benchmark at 26 fps at 1440P.

Actually it runs all games horribly. Changing to 1080P does nothing. Still bad performance. I have no idea anymore.

Iíve got no idea about threadripper shit, but isnít there some game mode that disables half the cores? Would that help?
PeterVenkman
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:35 PM)
PeterVenkman's Avatar

Originally Posted by dEvAnGeL

Thank you.

Actually a bit different for me - 980ti and an i7 4790, 1440p was hovering between 55 and 44fps, avg 52. Sorry I ran it before with the dynamic resolution on. This is with everything maxed but textures so you could probably get it locked with either dynamic res or by turning down some settings.
Last edited by PeterVenkman; 10-10-2017 at 08:40 PM.
spad3
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:42 PM)
spad3's Avatar

Originally Posted by scitek

*at 4K

Originally Posted by JaseC

You're not basing that on the in-game texture quality setting, are you? Its description doesn't change based on whether the pack is installed.



I think he's referring to the VRAM usage meter in the OP. 8266MB is only a smidge higher than 8192MB, though, so it's very possible 8GB is actually just enough.

this guy got it.

It's like 74 MB over the threshold, and I don't know how the bleedover works so I'm afraid to enable it cuz I don't want to face any problems for doing so.
Dictator93
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:43 PM)
Dictator93's Avatar

Originally Posted by dr_rus

About AB/RTSS OSD problems:

Wow, that is actually pretty neat.
JaseC
gave away the keys to the kingdom.
(10-10-2017, 08:47 PM)
JaseC's Avatar

Originally Posted by Duchess O'Death

Thank you for the confirmation.

JaseC, Can we have this tip in the OP?

Done.
RadioActiveLobster
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:54 PM)
RadioActiveLobster's Avatar
Here's the official page for submitting bugs.

Here is the Official FAQ/Support Page (though it's kinda barren at the moment, I imagine they'll add more to it though)


Also might be worth adding to the OP that I resolved my consistent crashing (app hang per Event Viewer) by removing my CPU overclock and running at stock settings.
Norwegian_Imposter
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:57 PM)
Norwegian_Imposter's Avatar

Originally Posted by Mifec

They disabled autostart and tray icon a few patches ago. It won't detect SoM until sometime tomorrow. It always does that with new games.


How often does it tell you there's a new patch?
Tizoc
Member
(10-10-2017, 08:58 PM)
Tizoc's Avatar
So far what causes the most impact to FPS? I'm averaging 40 FPS, which isn't bad and at least it isn't choppy, though I'd like to know what I can trim down to get it 50-60 FPS.
Zoz
Member
(10-10-2017, 09:10 PM)
Zoz's Avatar

Originally Posted by Tizoc

So far what causes the most impact to FPS? I'm averaging 40 FPS, which isn't bad and at least it isn't choppy, though I'd like to know what I can trim down to get it 50-60 FPS.

I think it's mesh quality, lightning and ambient occlusion.

Also, what's your rig?
Serious Sam
Member
(10-10-2017, 09:16 PM)
Serious Sam's Avatar
Hehe it's pretty neat how the game lets you supersample from 8K or even 16K. I tested 8K for shits and giggles. It was about 20-30FPS on the 1080Ti :D
dr_rus
Member
(10-10-2017, 09:19 PM)
dr_rus's Avatar

Originally Posted by Eclectic Sk3ptic

Thanks, I was wondering why it wasn't working unless I set the rendering mode to vector 2D.

Originally Posted by Dictator93

Wow, that is actually pretty neat.

And the new RTSS beta with OSD support for MESOW is out: https://forums.guru3d.com/posts/5480421
JaseC
gave away the keys to the kingdom.
(10-10-2017, 09:22 PM)
JaseC's Avatar

Originally Posted by RadioActiveLobster

Also might be worth adding to the OP that I resolved my consistent crashing (app hang per Event Viewer) by removing my CPU overclock and running at stock settings.

That's not an issue with the game itself per se but rather one of hardware stability. It's not uncommon for an unstable overclock to be more of a game-specific problem than a general one. I myself can attest to that!
Last edited by JaseC; 10-10-2017 at 09:45 PM.
RadioActiveLobster
Member
(10-10-2017, 09:43 PM)
RadioActiveLobster's Avatar

Originally Posted by JaseC

That's not an issue with the game itself per se but rather one of hardware stability. It's not uncommon for an unstable overclock to be more of a game-specific problem than a general one. I myself can attest to that!

True but it was something I overlooked for hours while trying to find the issue and this is the first time in 2+ years of 24/7 operation this OC caused a problem. Far more demanding games have had no issues at all with it (and very recently as well).

I meant it as more of a reminder to those who forgot, like myself.
JaseC
gave away the keys to the kingdom.
(10-10-2017, 09:47 PM)
JaseC's Avatar

Originally Posted by RadioActiveLobster

True but it was something I overlooked for hours while trying to find the issue and this is the first time in 2+ years of 24/7 operation this OC caused a problem. Far more demanding games have had no issues at all with it (and very recently as well).

I meant it as more of a reminder to those who forgot, like myself.

Ah. To be honest, I don't think the tips and tricks section is really the place for general troubleshooting advice, but I'll throw something in there if the game causes headaches for others with overclocked hardware.
tuna_love
Member
(10-10-2017, 09:47 PM)
tuna_love's Avatar
do the ultra textures look any better? i cant really see the difference
VSG
Junior Member
(10-10-2017, 09:51 PM)
VSG's Avatar

Originally Posted by tuna_love

do the ultra textures look any better? i cant really see the difference

They honestly don't. We just published our benchmarks (https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...Shadow_of_War/), and after ~30 min of basically pondering over zoomed-in 4K screenshots it doesn't do much. Perhaps for Ansel, but not worth it for gaming even though there is minimal performance hit from it.
tuna_love
Member
(10-10-2017, 09:53 PM)
tuna_love's Avatar

Originally Posted by VSG

They honestly don't. We just published our benchmarks (https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...Shadow_of_War/), and after ~30 min of basically pondering over zoomed-in 4K screenshots it doesn't do much. Perhaps for Ansel, but not worth it for gaming even though there is minimal performance hit from it.

thought i was going blind. spent more time checking the textures than playing
VSG
Junior Member
(10-10-2017, 09:55 PM)
VSG's Avatar

Originally Posted by tuna_love

thought i was going blind. spent more time checking the textures than playing

Ansel and the in-game screenshot modes do seem to be positively affected by it, so that's basically it then. If/when I buy the game for myself, I will not bother downloading the texture pack.
SomTervo
Member
(10-10-2017, 10:03 PM)
SomTervo's Avatar

Originally Posted by tuna_love

thought i was going blind. spent more time checking the textures than playing

Originally Posted by VSG

They honestly don't. We just published our benchmarks (https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...Shadow_of_War/), and after ~30 min of basically pondering over zoomed-in 4K screenshots it doesn't do much. Perhaps for Ansel, but not worth it for gaming even though there is minimal performance hit from it.

Thank god. That's 30GB saved.
dr_rus
Member
(10-10-2017, 10:26 PM)
dr_rus's Avatar

Originally Posted by VSG

They honestly don't. We just published our benchmarks (https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...Shadow_of_War/), and after ~30 min of basically pondering over zoomed-in 4K screenshots it doesn't do much. Perhaps for Ansel, but not worth it for gaming even though there is minimal performance hit from it.

I can't even download them, either the textures pack or the cinematics one. If I hit "Download" either in a browser or inside the Steam client it just launches the game without anything being downloaded anywhere. Great job again, WB.
dragn
Member
(10-10-2017, 10:28 PM)
dragn's Avatar
lol that vega 64 fps increase with a driver update in the pcgameshardware benchmark
Serious Sam
Member
(10-10-2017, 10:32 PM)
Serious Sam's Avatar
There is a difference between high and ultra textures. You don't need to look far to see it. Difference becomes more pronounced as you go up in resolution or supersampling.
See ornaments on his clothing, stars, squares, see ornaments on his big belt and huge belt buckle. Everything looks more pronounced and crisper with Ultra textures. Basically once you start seeing it you'll notice many things appear less blurry on Ultra.

High


Ultra
dr_rus
Member
(10-10-2017, 10:36 PM)
dr_rus's Avatar

Originally Posted by dr_rus

I can't even download them, either the textures pack or the cinematics one. If I hit "Download" either in a browser or inside the Steam client it just launches the game without anything being downloaded anywhere. Great job again, WB.

Found a workaround via browser install request:

For 4K Cinematic movies: steam://install/666840
For high-resolution texture content: steam://install/561950
Remij
Member
(10-10-2017, 10:43 PM)
Remij's Avatar
Anywhere I could see a comparison of the high res cinematics to the standard ones?
Serious Sam
Member
(10-10-2017, 10:44 PM)
Serious Sam's Avatar
High vs Ultra texture comparison continued. See orc's shoulder pad, especially red paint. Another very interesting difference is a piece of cloth (leather?) underneath the shoulder pad. On ultra texture setting it has more finely detailed edges, where as on high textures edges appear very straight and polygonal.

High


Ultra
The Dear Leader
Member
(10-10-2017, 11:13 PM)
The Dear Leader's Avatar
The 4K cinematics should be standard, they look so much better than the default ones, it's so jarring going from gameplay to the old 1080p renders.
texhnolyze
Member
(10-10-2017, 11:24 PM)
texhnolyze's Avatar

Originally Posted by Serious Sam

There is a difference between high and ultra textures. You don't need to look far to see it. Difference becomes more pronounced as you go up in resolution or supersampling.
See ornaments on his clothing, stars, squares, see ornaments on his big belt and huge belt buckle. Everything looks more pronounced and crisper with Ultra textures. Basically once you start seeing it you'll notice many things appear less blurry on Ultra.

I honestly can't tell the difference.

Also, ultra textures demanding more than 8gb vram render it inaccessible for many of us.
FlibbertiGibbet
Junior Member
(10-10-2017, 11:25 PM)
FlibbertiGibbet's Avatar

Originally Posted by The Dear Leader

The 4K cinematics should be standard, they look so much better than the default ones, it's so jarring going from gameplay to the old 1080p renders.

Battlefield 1....*cough*

I swear it renders cut scenes in 720p. So jarring.
Iceternal
Member
(10-10-2017, 11:31 PM)
Iceternal's Avatar

Originally Posted by PeterVenkman

Iíll try this when I get home, but I think verifying the game vi steam fixed my issues finally.



It runs well. I actually am running it at 4K but with dynamic resolution and 60 FPS target - I suspect itís more frequently running around 1440p as that was the highest resolution I could push without noticing drops. Everything maxed except textures because for some reason those are barred unless you have 8GB VRAM.

I tend not to really optimize settings when dynamic resolution is included, but I can test out more specific settings if you need me to.

How !?

I get drops to 54 fps in Minas Ithil on 1080p...

I haven't enabled dynamic res though...
Eclectic Sk3ptic
Junior Member
(10-10-2017, 11:36 PM)
Eclectic Sk3ptic's Avatar

Originally Posted by dr_rus

And the new RTSS beta with OSD support for MESOW is out: https://forums.guru3d.com/posts/5480421

Thanks again, that was quick. I'll update it later tonight. :-)
VSG
Junior Member
(10-11-2017, 12:02 AM)
VSG's Avatar

Originally Posted by texhnolyze

I honestly can't tell the difference.

Also, ultra textures demanding more than 8gb vram render it inaccessible for many of us.

It just says that, you can still run the game with those textures on even a GTX 1050 Ti with 4 GB VRAM. We didn't have a GTX 1060 with 3 GB memory, so not sure about that though.

Thread Tools