• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Games you can't play due to personal (emotional) reasons

Aztorian

Hey Gaf,

So I know this is something that counts for music. Some songs that remind you of something from the past that makes you emotional, happy, or whatever.

What about games? Do you have these feelings with some games too? For example I used to play some mmo and at that same time I started playing that game my grandpa started to feel really bad and worse. Everytime I try to pick the game back up I get reminded to that time and makes me less interested in the game just because of those memories.

Edit: Bomb me with Isaac tears if a thread like this already exists.

trikster40

What MMO were you playing out of curiousity?

For me, I can’t play Rock Band anymore. This kind of fits both game and music categories. My ex-wife has certain songs she absolutely loved to sing on there, and I can’t play it again or hear those songs without dredging up the past.

Aztorian

What MMO were you playing out of curiousity?

For me, I can’t play Rock Band anymore. This kind of fits both game and music categories. My ex-wife has certain songs she absolutely loved to sing on there, and I can’t play it again or hear those songs without dredging up the past.

Black Desert Online.

Understandable. I've got the same for music.

llien

Can't recall any and feel a bit guilty about it.

I have the opposite example, strange combination of 1 vs 7 AI map in SC1 combined with Enigma's album makes me feel safer and happier for no apparent reason, just generic New Year Eve and good times.

Velius

Banned
Ages ago now it seems, I was married. We were married for seven years, dated for five and a half before that. For all of our dating years and I daresay the vast majority of our married ones, life was beautiful. I loved her more than anything.