• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Online course teaching game development with Unity - $10 bucks on Udemy.

Afrocious

https://www.udemy.com/unitycourse/

I've been doing it for the past few days and I like it so far. I feel like it's a bit slow since I already code for a living, but for folks who haven't quite cut their teeth in game dev or coding - I think this class is great and straightforward.

The deal ends on the 11th. Also, the deal applies for most other classes on the site.

Dunno if this belongs properly in games, but if it needs to be moved, then so be it.

Simzyy

Thanks for this. Been meaning to try learn Unity as a side project.

For that price I might as well give it a go.

Afrocious

Would this be a good place to start if you don't have programming experience?

Yes. The programming in the beginning is both basic and eludes to more advanced techniques devs in general use without shoving it in your face.

Example: the numerical guessing game you make in the beginning uses binary searching to guess numbers. You don't study binary searching or its speed and efficiency, instead you just code the thing.

Afrocious

Why would you choose this over the official tutorials that are 100% free??

http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials

Because 10 bucks is nothing in the scope of learning something in a structured format.

In terms of learning anything, going for only the free stuff undermines the knowledge itself.

If someone is unwilling to invest cash in themselves as far as learning anything, discount or not, they're not going to learn much.

Not to bash the free tutorials, but I personally prefer hand-holding and more structure and am willing to pay for it. And since I'm willing to pay for it, I've invested a resource already, and wouldn't want my investment to go wasted.

neonille