|
formerly Strider2K99
(02-17-2012, 02:24 PM)
|
Gameblog outs CALL OF DUTY BLACK OPS 2 in Amazon FR listing, now blacklisted by ATVI.
#1
All credit goes to GAF member Nugg, who can't create threads. Originally posted in MW3 thread:
http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost...ostcount=14932
1. Black Ops 2 is real and Activision is now doing what it can to prevent it from being revealed too early. Or it's not true and Activision is trying to prevent misinformation from spreading. 2. This is another example of a big publisher using their muscle to push the media around, like that time Sony blacklisted Kotaku: http://kotaku.com/240860/sony-blackballs-kotaku Mods, please edit thread title as appropriate. |
|
|
|
Blinded by the luminous glory that is David Bowie's physical manifestation.
(02-17-2012, 02:31 PM)
|
#14
Getting blacklisted for a "does a bear shit in the woods," type post/"rumor?" Really, Activision?
You don't want people to make these "NO DUH" type posts, how about... laying off the series for a year or two and people will actually be surprised! |
|
(02-17-2012, 02:31 PM)
|
#16
Respect to Gameblog.fr
Journalistic integrity means not backing down when threatened, even if your bottom line might get affected by being blacklisted by one of the biggest publishers in the world. Good job guys. |
|
STOP SHITTING ON MY MOTHER'S HEADSTONE
(02-17-2012, 02:32 PM)
|
#18
So if you talk about something that was on a publicly viewable website, and Activision doesn't like it, they'll blacklist you?
I mean it's not like they broke an NDA. They were reporting something that was on Amazon. Marketing, man. |
|
Banned
(02-17-2012, 02:34 PM)
|
#25
It's probably a little of column A and a little of column B. It's 95% probably definitely almost assuredly 100% happening but they're just trying to control rumours and misinformation from swirling out of control. I think it'd honestly be better to just let these blogs run their mouths and just call them crazy, personally. Pulling a stunt like this makes the blog seem like they have credibility in regards to the rumour being fact.
Kudos to Gameblog.fr for wanting to stay honest and transparent to their audience. /bow
Last edited by soultron; 02-17-2012 at 02:43 PM.
|
|
Member
(02-17-2012, 02:37 PM)
|
#27
I'll be interested in what they say about this on podcasts, seeing as those podcasts are put out by sites that likely either won't run the story for fear of activision or already took it down for the same reason.
I really hope at least Giant Bomb or Weekend Confirmed/Shacknews have some integrity. |
|
GAF's Ed McMahon
(02-17-2012, 02:38 PM)
|
#33
Gameblog will bend over. They always do. They like to get in bed with publishers and stuff. It's viewed by french gamers as a pretty shitty website, despite having people who worked for french gaming press in the 90s.
|
|
Member
(02-17-2012, 02:40 PM)
|
#35
I need to ask but is the games industry the only industry that heavily penalises press for stuff like this?
It's not like Batman movie set photos a year before films release, surely it doesn't matter what time you get your hype on? Also it's CoD Black Ops 2 didn't they register 2-7 on web registrations, so not at all a big surprise. Annoys me when I hear about stuff like this makes you question the integrity of other news sites and just shows Activision off as being a dick company in PR. |
|
Banned
(02-17-2012, 02:40 PM)
|
#36
I just want to see what the "meaningful innovation" (perhaps a mechanical overhaul) they're proposing with this, the next title in the COD franchise.
|
|
The Mayuh of f'n Bawston
(02-17-2012, 02:50 PM)
|
#42
|
|
(02-17-2012, 02:56 PM)
|
#46
The return of the superior game. Should be interesting to see what treyarch does. Also activision are dicks, shocking news indeed.
|
|
Banned
(02-17-2012, 02:59 PM)
|
#47
I'm more speaking of any speculation that comes as a result, especially since there's no information out there aside from the Amazon listing. It's just the usual "we want to control 100% of the message," from the looks of things. ACTI is definitely going about it the wrong way though -- this is going to draw attention to things. Plus, cached versions and URLs don't really allow you to "erase" anything these days.
|
|
Banned
(02-17-2012, 03:04 PM)
|
#48
People still believe that website with Iron Wolf and a game developed by "Treyerch" is real. Just last week, that had to say again that it was fake, as if "Treyerch" wasn't evidence enough. :p |
|
The Mayuh of f'n Bawston
(02-17-2012, 03:07 PM)
|
#49
From Google Translate:
Quote:
|