• Register
  • TOS
  • Privacy
  • @NeoGAF

Napalm_Frank
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:42 PM)
Napalm_Frank's Avatar
Does this mean next gen starts when Sony says so?
Plinko
Wildcard berths that can't beat teams without a winning record should have homefield advantage
(11-01-2012, 05:42 PM)
Plinko's Avatar

We were told that Sony’s aim with Orbis is to avoid problems involved in launching PS3 by creating something “very affordable” but that “isn’t a slouch”.

I'll take it!
DragonSworne
Satoru Iwata and his Trilateral Commission cronies are suppressing the truth about Retro. Wake up, sheeple!
(11-01-2012, 05:43 PM)
DragonSworne's Avatar
Guys, the articles says the dev kits have 8-16Gb, as in gigabits, not gigabytes.


If you convert the numbers, that means these dev kits only have 1-2GB.

An A10 with only 2GB would be WiiU level. Makes sense considering Sony's position in the market.
lemon__fresh
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:43 PM)
lemon__fresh's Avatar

Originally Posted by FlashFlooder

It's slightly reassuring that they aren't promising the moon, like they did with PS3. And that they seem to understand that price is a big factor.

But man, I'm mostly amazed at how big of a disaster their investment in Cell processor has been. For them to be ditching that architecture altogether is kind of unthinkable, yet here it is.

It was an early multicore processor design, there are much better options available today. I don't really think they are ditching anything.

Anywho, can't wait for the next gen to finally fucking start.
Canis lupus
Junior Member
(11-01-2012, 05:44 PM)
Canis lupus's Avatar

We were also told that the machine will be designed to accept system and product updates in the background, and that it’ll “always be standby mode”. When you set the console up, we were told, you’ll be asked if you want to allow background downloads. You can, of course, disallow them.

Sounds so good.
KojiKnight
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:44 PM)
KojiKnight's Avatar

Originally Posted by Talamius

1080p60 in 3D is not happening on an A10 by itself. An A10 by itself will struggle in 1080p period.

If there's another GPU involved it will make a ton more sense.

Edit: And yes, I know it's not final specs.

That's not necessarily true... Even an unmodified A10 will output at 1080p if you give it a large enough (and fast enough) amount of ram. Remember, it's very unlikely that the PS4 would be running on standard DDR3 memory... Couple the A10 with memory more akin to GDDR5 and you'll get a lot better results than any PC version could (which shares it's memory and bus with general computing tasks on a DDR3 bus)
Heavy
jerking off to field goals
(11-01-2012, 05:44 PM)
Heavy's Avatar

Originally Posted by DragonSworne

Guys, the articles says the dev kits have 8-16Gb, as in gigabits, not gigabytes.


If you convert the numbers, that means these dev kits only have 1-2GB.

An A10 with only 2GB would be WiiU level. Makes sense considering Sony's position in the market.

Seriously? put 2 & 2 together dude, they obviously meant gigabytes. How often is gigabits used when talking about memory.
-Pyromaniac-
(11-01-2012, 05:44 PM)
-Pyromaniac-'s Avatar

Originally Posted by DragonSworne

Guys, the articles says the dev kits have 8-16Gb, as in gigabits, not gigabytes.


If you convert the numbers, that means these dev kits only have 1-2GB.

An A10 with only 2GB would be WiiU level. Makes sense considering Sony's position in the market.

yeah because everyone refers to RAM in gigabits...
RoboPlato
I'd be in the dick
(11-01-2012, 05:44 PM)
RoboPlato's Avatar
Damn, specs sound higher than I was expecting. Excellent.
gofreak
GAF's Bob Woodward
(11-01-2012, 05:44 PM)
gofreak's Avatar

Originally Posted by Zeitgeister

Strange to put 3D in there. Didn't Sony recently say that there is "no interest" in 3D from the consumer market?

I imagine that they have to keep it in there since they sell 3D TV's and all, but that particular comment in Enslaved was pretty apt. So I would imagine it not to have any particular focus, unless they want to do something different with it.

They might be thinking along the lines of stereo3D for a HMD...

But either way I'd still expect 3D as a given, even if it's not a huge deal.
AOC83
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:44 PM)

Originally Posted by Napalm_Frank

Does this mean next gen starts when Sony says so?

As always.
tapedeck
Do I win a prize for talking about my penis on the Internet???
(11-01-2012, 05:45 PM)
tapedeck's Avatar

Originally Posted by DragonSworne

Guys, the articles says the dev kits have 8-16Gb, as in gigabits, not gigabytes.


If you convert the numbers, that means these dev kits only have 1-2GB.

An A10 with only 2GB would be WiiU level. Makes sense considering Sony's position in the market.

not sure if serious...
Eideka
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:45 PM)

Originally Posted by AOC83

As always.

Not sure if serious....
Canis lupus
Junior Member
(11-01-2012, 05:45 PM)
Canis lupus's Avatar

Originally Posted by DragonSworne

Guys, the articles says the dev kits have 8-16Gb, as in gigabits, not gigabytes.


If you convert the numbers, that means these dev kits only have 1-2GB.

An A10 with only 2GB would be WiiU level. Makes sense considering Sony's position in the market.

It also states a 256Gb hdd, I don't think they'll include a small 32GB hdd in it.
DragonSworne
Satoru Iwata and his Trilateral Commission cronies are suppressing the truth about Retro. Wake up, sheeple!
(11-01-2012, 05:46 PM)
DragonSworne's Avatar

Originally Posted by Heavy

Seriously? put 2 & 2 together dude, they obviously meant gigabytes. How often is gigabits used when talking about memory.


You'd think the person who wrote the article would know the difference between GB and Gb.
mrklaw
MrArseFace
(11-01-2012, 05:46 PM)
mrklaw's Avatar

Originally Posted by gofreak

They might be thinking along the lines of stereo3D for a HMD...

But either way I'd still expect 3D as a given, even if it's not a huge deal.

great looking games at 1080p/30/3D is a good way to get 1080p/60 in 2D mode. So we should be encouraging 3D games, even if you don't care about 3D
FlashFlooder
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:46 PM)
FlashFlooder's Avatar

Originally Posted by AOC83

Just keep your PS3 if you want to play the games, what´s the problem?

the problem is, I like new hardware.

It was an early multicore processor design, there are much better options available today. I don't really think they are ditching anything

It's a totally different architecture than any of the other multicore processors out there. It's not like multicores didn't exist when they came out with Cell. They were talking like the one in the PS3 would be the first Cell processor of many to come, and it would have to be for them to recoup their R&D spending on it.

so yes, they are ditching it.
Last edited by FlashFlooder; 11-01-2012 at 05:48 PM. Reason: d
AOC83
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:47 PM)

Originally Posted by DragonSworne

Guys, the articles says the dev kits have 8-16Gb, as in gigabits, not gigabytes.


If you convert the numbers, that means these dev kits only have 1-2GB.

An A10 with only 2GB would be WiiU level. Makes sense considering Sony's position in the market.

If Sony wanted to ride with hardware around the WiiU power level they just could use the PS3, no point in releasing a new console then.
SatelliteOfLove
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:47 PM)
SatelliteOfLove's Avatar

Originally Posted by Globox_82

It's made in China, stop the presses.

Yeah, really. Ain't Sony the only one whose consoles were still manufactured at home?
Heavy
jerking off to field goals
(11-01-2012, 05:47 PM)
Heavy's Avatar

Originally Posted by DragonSworne

You'd think the person who wrote the article would know the difference between GB and Gb.

Did you get excited when you saw it said Gb and thought it would be WiiU-level
DragonSworne
Satoru Iwata and his Trilateral Commission cronies are suppressing the truth about Retro. Wake up, sheeple!
(11-01-2012, 05:47 PM)
DragonSworne's Avatar

Originally Posted by TurkishEmperor

It also states a 256Gb hdd, I don't think they'll include a small 32GB hdd in it.


Sony won't use a HDD, they"ll use solid state and 32GB makes sense.
Lion Heart
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:47 PM)
Lion Heart's Avatar
My peen is ready. I hope Sony contains any further leaks until E3 but we know that wont happen. Also have the confidence to unveil it at E3 and not an event prior.

I'd love a $499 machine but for Sonys well being they should aim for a $399 machine. And a little Ken K in the system can't hurt :P.
KojiKnight
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:47 PM)
KojiKnight's Avatar

Originally Posted by mrklaw

great looking games at 1080p/30/3D is a good way to get 1080p/60 in 2D mode. So we should be encouraging 3D games, even if you don't care about 3D

Except devs often limit framerate to 30 even if their games can do better to keep it consistent, and they might do just that again.
Clear
This post contains disingenuous arguments meant to disguise my fanboyism. Reader beware!
(11-01-2012, 05:47 PM)
Clear's Avatar
A lot is going to depend on where the OS is running, speculation about it running on the ARM core using an Chrome/Android derivative seems plausible because they will want a heavily beefed up security layer to avoid code being dumped and run on PC.

Do that, and leave the x86 cores free to run application code should give it a substantial performance boost over running in a standard PC environment.

As to the 60fps thing; yes of course some devs will opt to stay at 30 and double down on scene detail/render quality. Like 3D, 60fps doesn't advertise well because in promo form, its rarely seen in its full quality.
gofreak
GAF's Bob Woodward
(11-01-2012, 05:48 PM)
gofreak's Avatar

Originally Posted by SatelliteOfLove

Yeah, really. Ain't Sony the only one whose consoles were still manufactured at home?

PS3s have been manufactured in China for a long time. Only some of the launch batch were made in Japan. Don't think any of their manufacturing is in Japan now (?)
AOC83
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:48 PM)

Originally Posted by Eideka

Not sure if serious....

Just kidding.
DerpButter
Junior Member
(11-01-2012, 05:48 PM)
DerpButter's Avatar
As somebody that has messed with my pc on a couple 3dtvs, I can definitely tell you that 1080p 60hz in 3d isn't happening unless some new tvs with a faster hdmi spec start dropping. The most any hdmi 1.4 3dtv out right now can handle at 1080 is 24hz. Thats all the bandwidth a single link cable can carry, 30hz might be technically possible but I don't think its part of the official spec.
lemon__fresh
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:48 PM)
lemon__fresh's Avatar

Originally Posted by Lion Heart

My peen is ready. I hope Sony contains any further leaks until E3 but we know that wont happen. Also have the confidence to unveil it at E3 and not an event prior.

I'd love a $499 machine but for Sonys well being they should aim for a $399 machine. And a little Ken K in the system can't hurt :P.

Why does it matter? Console spoilerz?
phosphor112
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:48 PM)
phosphor112's Avatar

Originally Posted by mrmarioman

1080p@60fps and 3D? That would be nice. I thought hdmi was limited to 24frames at 1080p 3D



Nope. Completely capable.
Lonely1
Junior Member
(11-01-2012, 05:49 PM)
Lonely1's Avatar
Ver vague specs. But looks like they are now targeting 4GB of RAM.
cloudyy
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:49 PM)
cloudyy's Avatar

Originally Posted by -Pyromaniac-

yeah because everyone refers to RAM in gigabits...

And nobody uses 256 gigabytes for HDD, it's always 250GB. 256Gb=32GB on the other hand...
Horse Armour
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:49 PM)
Lol at people pretending that this is in anyway powerful or that we'll be playing anything better than BF3 at 1080p on this. The AMD APUs are in no way powerful platforms. If this and the Xbox 3=6670 rumours are true then you can kiss goodbye to a next gen leap.
Eideka
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:50 PM)

Originally Posted by AOC83

Just kidding.

You are entitled to your opinion, some people seem to be very serious when making such statements.

It's very amusing I must admit (even though I like Sony).
AOC83
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:50 PM)

Originally Posted by FlashFlooder

the problem is, I like new hardware.

Me too, and bc is really nice to have but there are way more important things i look for in new hardware,
Nizz
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:50 PM)
Nizz's Avatar

Originally Posted by mrklaw

great looking games at 1080p/30/3D is a good way to get 1080p/60 in 2D mode. So we should be encouraging 3D games, even if you don't care about 3D

Sounds awesome. The thought of playing games like the Assassin's Creed games and Battlefield at 1080p/60fps sounds good.
CryptiK
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:50 PM)
CryptiK's Avatar
Really only an A10? Cant be the same one they use in Desktops.
H_Prestige
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:50 PM)
Sorry but without ps1/2/3 bc this machine is useless
Canis lupus
Junior Member
(11-01-2012, 05:51 PM)
Canis lupus's Avatar
From the sounds of it, its gonna be a powerful console. 1080p@60 honestly is easy task for even 2 years old gpus.
KillerMan91
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:51 PM)
KillerMan91's Avatar

Originally Posted by SmokyDave



Did nobody tell Sony that only 0.000002% of the world use Ethernet?!

As a user of PS3 Media Server: Ethernet >>>>>> Wifi.
Auto_aim1
MeisaMcCaffrey
(11-01-2012, 05:51 PM)
Auto_aim1's Avatar
1080p60fps in 3D is a nice goal to have, especially if they design a machine capable of outputting games at that fidelity.

4GB RAM is, well, fine but also depends on how much the OS uses.
Toki767
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:51 PM)
Toki767's Avatar
You'd have to think that a solid state drive would increase the price by a good bit. It'd be a pretty risky move by Sony considering next generation they would probably prefer to have more digital downloads that would require much larger hard drives unless they go the Nintendo route and let you run games off an external.
CronoShot
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:52 PM)
CronoShot's Avatar
$599 US Dollars part 2.
DragonSworne
Satoru Iwata and his Trilateral Commission cronies are suppressing the truth about Retro. Wake up, sheeple!
(11-01-2012, 05:52 PM)
DragonSworne's Avatar

Originally Posted by cloudyy

And nobody uses 256 gigabytes for HDD, it's always 250GB. 256Gb=32GB on the other hand...


Stop making sense.

I'm out of this thread from the shear fact most of you guys believe PS3 is near WiiU level.

Peace out.
Dorfdad
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:53 PM)
Dorfdad's Avatar
So in the end this will be like 2x better than Wii U im guessing. Wii U does 1080p and could do 3D if the technology wasn't so shitty and on the way out..
V_Ben
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:53 PM)
V_Ben's Avatar
With them arriving with either 8 or 16gb of ram, it looks like its up to the developers to convince Sony to go for more. At least, I hope that's what's happening.
Shikoro
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:53 PM)
Shikoro's Avatar

Originally Posted by DragonSworne

8Gb = 1GB

There are 8 bits in one byte.

If these specs are true, this is around WiiU level.

This is what bothers me. If they're intending to talk about this stuff, they should at least learn the basics of what this thing is about. I'm sure they meant GB, or even GiB, but no one uses that since no one knows what it is.

The verdict is, if true, this won't be that powerful as I hoped. The RAM will again be the bottleneck, if not in size, but in bandwidth which makes me sad.

Originally Posted by V_Ben

With them arriving with either 8 or 16gb of ram, it looks like its up to the developers to convince Sony to go for more. At least, I hope that's what's happening.

Not sure if serious.
Gemüsepizza
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:53 PM)
Gemüsepizza's Avatar
That means no dedicated GPU? Otherwise an APU doesn't make sense, you don't need integrated graphics to "save power", modern GPUs don't need much power when they are not under load. The A10-5800K for example has a HD 7660D graphics unit with 384 "Radeon Cores" and 800MHz clock speed, it can use 1866MB DDR3 RAM. Not very impressive. In the article they say something about a modified version, we will see how much better this will be.
edible_candle
Banned
(11-01-2012, 05:53 PM)

Originally Posted by mrklaw

1080p is no good without suitable textures. I'd rather have 720p with high res textures, than 1080p with low res ones.

Originally Posted by Heavy

How can textures be good at 720p? even the most detailed ones will still just be 720p and blurry and garbage unless you're sitting 10 feet away, which I guess a lot of people do if they play on a TV but still.

The other thing is that devs create assets at much higher res than 1080p so they'll automatically be better.

Rendering resolution doesn't necessarily affect the texture resolution. See Wipeout HD running at 1080p (ish) with really high resolution textures, and Call of Duty running at sub-720p, featuring much lower resolution textures. The reverse also happens - see many PS2 and Wii games sporting fairly high resolution textures despite running at 480p, where the high fidelity would be hard to see in normal gameplay scenarios.

Texture resolution is generally dependent on the amount of RAM allocated to textures (streaming in textures on the fly alleviates this, however, and is now very common). So hope for large amounts of RAM, and hope for graphics cards that can render textures easily.
Pranay_
Member
(11-01-2012, 05:53 PM)
Pranay_'s Avatar

Originally Posted by TurkishEmperor

From the sounds of it, its gonna be a powerful console. 1080p@60 honestly is easy task for even 2 years old gpus.

But what about next gen games /?

Unless most game developers use just prefer proper IQ and have a moderate increase in current gen assets
Canis lupus
Junior Member
(11-01-2012, 05:53 PM)
Canis lupus's Avatar

Originally Posted by Toki767

You'd have to think that a solid state drive would increase the price by a good bit. It'd be a pretty risky move by Sony considering next generation they would probably prefer to have more digital downloads that would require much larger hard drives unless they go the Nintendo route and let you run games off an external.

Sony should launch more expensive limited edition PS4s with a custom SSD in it, it'll be popular enough to sell in the ten thousands.

Thread Tools