• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

How can we tell what resolution a game is rendering?

There's been a lot of talk recently about rendering resolution and upscaling for games. During the discussions, I've seen people confused about how a screenshot or video that's 1080p can reliably indicate a game's rendering res is less than that. Some have even doubted that it's possible to tell at all, apart from being told by the developers. So I thought I'd try my hand at explaining pixel counting, the process used to do this analysis. This is just what I've garnered from others (especially Quaz51), and I'm not an expert, so take everything I say with caution. Anyone with more technical savvy is welcome to correct me.

The grid of pixels that makes up every digital image defines its native display resolution. The higher the pixel count for the same physical size, the more detail you see. For example, 720p and 1080p have a ratio of 2:3; for every 2 pixels at 720p you have 3 pixels at 1080p. Something like this (720p on the left):
HNsiJn9.jpg
36SlG1b.jpg

Every pixel must be either fully on or fully off, never partially filled. So a straight line can't just run perfectly across the display (unless it's exactly vertical or horizontal). All diagonals have to stairstep, which is what causes aliasing or "jaggies". Because of how coordinate grids work, a near-horizontal line will stairstep exactly as many times as the total pixel rows it crosses. (A near-vertical one will stairstep exactly as many times as the columns it crosses.) So in the 720p version below there are 4 steps, and the line crosses 4 pixel rows; the 1080p version has 5 steps, across 5 pixel rows.
dgu2bJE.jpg
2LkR6n2.jpg