• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Drag queens banned from Pride event 'because they may offend transgender people'

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sagroth

My spouse is genderfluid(AFAB), and she's never expressed any problems or had any trouble getting along with the(admittedly not all that many) drag queens we know.

kaye

Banned
I have had little experience with drag performers and certainly don't know any; but I utterly WILL NOT step all over the rights and freedoms of others to gain my little piece of illusory equality. That's evil.

I'm a little ignorant when it comes to drag. Is it simply a clothing/style choice, or is it a physiological/biological state? (I'm asking unrelated to the news.)

LGBT+ Drag is a form of non-cis normative gender expression (the physical manifestation/performance/presentation of one's internal gender identity, usually heavily influenced by social constructs) often mixed with creative/artistic expression.
Trans people/cis people (not trans)/ genderqueer people/etc. can engage in queer drag and contribute to it's culture but the majority of kings and queens tend to be cis identified (not trans) gender-nonconforming LGB women and men.
I'm not really sure how crossdressing (which drag is just a fancier form of) might relate to someone's biology, but we do have an OT for drag and crossdressing if you want some questions answered.

Crossdressing And Drag OT

Xe4

Banned