Fighting Games Weekly | November 26 - December 2nd | I got a Ph.D. in Mahvel Theory

enzo_gt

tagged by Blackace
#1



Week of November 26th to December 2nd.

Fighting Games Weekly is the weekly discussion for all things fighting games. News, events, streams, videos, players, drama, everything fighting game related.

Last week's thread.​





Northeast Championships XIII [ Thread ] [ Saturday, December 1 ] [ 11AM EST | 9AM PST ]
Street Fighter 25th Anniversary Tournament Series: UK Qualifier [ Saturday, December 1 ] [ 12PM BST | 6AM EST | 3AM PST ]





Salty Battles Weekly [ 8PM EST | 5PM PDT]
  • P4A and UMvC3 from Local Battles arcade in New Jersey.
The Late Night Show with Long Island Joe [ 9PM EST | 6PM PST ]
  • LI Joe's weekly talk show, and a notorious home for FGC drama.
Option-select Mixup Monday [ 10PM EST | 7PM PST ]
  • SFxTK, SSFIV AE and UMvC3 out of Southern Florida.
UltraChenTV: First Attack & Lv3 Focus [ 11PM EST | 8PM PST ]
  • Weekly FGC show dedicated to match analysis, teaching, commentary, news, debates, and more! Hosted by UltraDavid and James Chen.




Kachitagari TV (JP) [ 9PM JST | 8AM EST | 5AM PST ]
  • Bon-chan, Kazunoko and Fuudo's new show, focusing primarily on SSFIV AE ranked matches but is branching off into other games as well.
AmalgameTV (JP) [ 10PM JST | 9AM EST | 6AM PST ]
  • Frieda and Fubarduck's weekly show.
WinnerStaysOn (UK) [ 7PM BST | 2PM EST | 11AM PST ]
  • SSFIV AE and UMvC3 out of the UK, alternating between them every week.
The Break Weekly [ 8PM EST | 5PM PST ]
  • New Jersey's largest weekly featuring SSFIV AE and UMvC3.
WakeUp SRK Live [ 9:30PM EST | 6:30 PST ]
  • Keits and skisonic host the weekly official podcast of Shoryuken.com
UltraChenTV: Level 3 Focus [ 11PM EST | 8PM PST ]
  • Weekly FGC show dedicated to match analysis, teaching, commentary, news, debates, and more! Hosted by UltraDavid and James Chen.
Box Sessions Live [ 11PM EST | 8PM PST ]
  • San Diego's largest weekly, featuring SG, SSFIV AE, and UMvC3.
Cross Counter Live [ 12AM EST | 9PM PST ]
  • Mike Ross and the recently resurrected Gootecks host a weekly show to discuss recent happenings in the fighting game community. [ON HIATUS]




Game Spot Versus KoF Casuals (JP) [ 7PM JST | 6AM EST | 3AM PST ]
  • KoF 1998UM, KoF 2002UM and KoF XIII C action from Japan.
TOPANGA TV (JP) [ 9PM JST | 8AM EST | 5AM PST ]
  • Description needed.
Big Two [ 7PM EST | 4PM PST ]
  • NYC's biggest weekly at The Next Level Arcade in Brooklyn featuring SSFIV AE, UMvC3 and TTT2. If the Teamsp00ky link is not working, it is likely on the backup stream on goldencen.
Wednesday Night Xanbats [ 9PM EST | 6PM PST ]
  • Weekly streaming from Maryland, featuring SG, SFxTK and UMvC3.
Wednesday Night Fights Season 4 [ 12AM EDT (following day) | 9PM PST ]
Starbase Arcade [ 12AM EST | 9PM PST ]
  • NorCal weekly featuring SSFIV AE and UMvC3. [ON HIATUS]




Game Spot Versus SFIII:3S Casuals + East-West Battle (JP) [ 8:20PM JST | 7:20AM EST | 4:20AM PST ]
  • 3rd Strike action from Japan.
The Breakdown with DJ Huoshen and Unkn0wn [ 8PM EST | 5PM PST ]
  • Description needed.
Thursday Night Vampire Savior Ranbats [ 8PM EST | 5PM PST ]
  • Arcade Legacy VS streams out of Cincinnati, Ohio, with varying formats every week.
Valley Stream Monsters Thursday Night Casuals [ 8PM EST | 5PM PST ]
  • MK9. Description needed.
Stream Monster Online Tournament [ 8:30 EST | 5:30 PST ]
  • Weekly 16-player UMvC3 online tournament run by FGTV and sponsored by eightarc.
FNC The Arena [ 10PM EST | 7PM PST ]
  • UMvC3 weekly out of Long Island, New York, which sometimes features other games.
Salty Cupcakes [ 10PM EST | 7PM PST ]
The Runback Season 4 [ 12AM EDT (following day) | 9PM PST ]
Thursday Night Throwdown [ 12AM EST | 9PM PST ]
  • Description needed.
Ask Dr. Sub-Zero Show [ 1AM EST | 10PM PST ]
  • [ON HIATUS]




Game Spot Versus Gundam: Extreme Vs. Full Boost Casuals (JP) [ 7PM JST | 6AM EST | 3AM PST ]
  • Streaming the newest version of Extreme Vs.
KaoTV! (JP) [ 11PM JST | 10AM EST | 7AM PST ]
Rokrew Arena [ 8PM EST | 5PM PST ]
  • Biweekly stream out of New Jersey featuring P4:A and Guilty Gear/Aquapazza alternating.
Fraud-Free Fridays [ 9PM EST | 6PM PST ]
  • Weekly tournament run at the FGTV house. Don't forget about the second FGTV stream as well which compliments the main one.
Southtown Arcade Ranbats: No Mercy Fridays [ 10PM EST | 7PM PST ]
  • Norcal weekly featuring VF5:FS, SCV and T6. [ON HIATUS]
The Midnight Challenge [ 11PM EST | 8PM PST ]
  • Weekly P4:A tournaments run by Gamecenter.
Electric Wind God Fridays [ 11:30PM EST | 8:30PM PST ]
  • Back!




Game Spot Versus SSFIIX Casuals & 3on3 Tournament (JP) [ 8:20PM JST | 7:20AM EST | 4:20AM PST ]
  • Super Turbo action from Japan.
Team St1ckBuG [ 12PM EST | 9AM PST ]
  • For the very first time, St1ckBuG will have a (standard) 3D title with Virtua Fighter5 Final Showdown. Also featuring BBCSEX, GGXXAC, and SG. [NOT HAPPENING]
Southtown Arcade Ranbats: Saturday Night Snapback [ 10PM EST | 7PM PST ]
  • NorCal weekly featuring SFxTK, SSFIV AE and UMvC3. [ON HIATUS]




Game Spot Versus CvS2 Casuals & 3on3 Tournament (JP) [ 1PM JST | 12AM EST | 9PM PDT (previous day) ]
  • CvS2 action from Japan.
Southtown Arcade Ranbats: Real Honest Sundays [ 4PM EST | 1PM PST ]
  • NorCal weekly featuring CvS2 and KoF XIII C. [ON HIATUS]
GGPO VanBats [ 4PM EST | 1PM PST ]
  • Weekly GGPO Vampire Savior ranbats streamed by GAFer Rotanibur.




On GAF we have various members that stream fighting games from time to time too:
Additionally, if you want to really get involved, you may want to check out the various OTs for specific games:
GAF isn't the only FG community in town though. Here are a whole bunch of other FG communities across the internet that may be of interest:
  • 8WayRun - Soul Calibur franchise community
  • DOACentral - Dead or Alive franchise community
  • Dream Cancel - King of Fighters franchise community and resource
  • Dustloop - Forums/community for Arc System Works-developed games
  • Eventhubs - Frequently updated news blog, resource and forums for all things fighting games
  • FGCPros hub on Twitch.tv - A collective group of fighting game streamers on Twitch.tv
  • FreeStepDodge - Dead or Alive franchise community
  • Homing Cancel - Arcana Heart community
  • iPlaywinner - Large fighting game news site and resource, and the home to Teamsp00ky and iPlaywinner
  • Mayonaka Midnight - Persona 4 Arena community and resource
  • Melty Bread - Melty Blood community
  • Mizuumi - A resource for various "poverty" games
  • Shoryuken - Mainly 2D-game centric hub, and probably one of, if not the largest FG community on the internet
  • TekkenZaibatsu - Tekken franchise community
  • Test Your Might - Mortal Kombat and Injustice community and resource
  • Smash Boards - The largest Smash Bros. Community™
  • VFDC - Virtua Fighter franchise community site

- - -

If you have any suggestions for the OP, please do not hesitate to post in this thread or PM me to let me know.
 
#18
Ah a new thread, time to post match sets that only cool people will have an interest in (of which 90% who post in this thread are not~)
KOF THROUGH THE AGES!
1 HOUR OF 97! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZNlKHOEqg4&feature=plcp
90+ MINS OF 98! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wTT7WzzwemQ&feature=plcp
90+ MINS OF 02 UM! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0wGapfe8is&feature=plcp

LOTS of BBCP vids can be found here:
https://www.youtube.com/user/DoaGHThaDOJO/videos?view=0

...and that's about it for now.
 
#21
Hitting NEC this week for VF.

I care about Marvel/SF so little I"m tempted to bail out of NEC Saturday Night to see the Madoka movie, since that's running at same time in Philly.

How many folks would be interested in that/have transportation? Since NEC is the anime FGC major, kinda shocked if enough folks aren't doing this (if they know about it)
 
#24
Hitting NEC this week for VF.

I care about Marvel/SF so little I"m tempted to bail out of NEC Saturday Night to see the Madoka movie, since that's running at same time in Philly.

How many folks would be interested in that/have transportation? Since NEC is the anime FGC major, kinda shocked if enough folks aren't doing this (if they know about it)
Good luck in VF!
 
#25
Ah a new thread, time to post match sets that only cool people will have an interest in (of which 90% who post in this thread are not~)
KOF THROUGH THE AGES!
1 HOUR OF 97! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZNlKHOEqg4&feature=plcp
90+ MINS OF 98! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wTT7WzzwemQ&feature=plcp
90+ MINS OF 02 UM! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0wGapfe8is&feature=plcp

LOTS of BBCP vids can be found here:
https://www.youtube.com/user/DoaGHThaDOJO/videos?view=0

...and that's about it for now.
<3<3<3
 
#30
Man I remember a year ago at the last's NEC Chris G cried because he almost won and he whiffed a Level 3 Shin Shoryuken

And now...
That really is a game issue. I've tried dozens of times in training mode, with no pressure at all, to DHC Spell of Vishanti to Chaotic Flame, and even when I let the stick return to neutral I get Dark Dimension. Capcom really needs to fix this game's input reading. I put that even ahead of changing TACs.
 
#35
FINALLY! MY OT TITLE HAS BEEN CHOSEN BY THE ENZO GOD!

<3 Karst <3
<3

how was everyone's thanksgiving
Good. My wife and I hate turkey, so we usually go to a Chinese restaurant since they're always open on Thanksgiving. This year, we couldn't find a good one that was open (WHAT?!), so we got Popeye's instead. It was also our 9 year anniversary, so we had two things to celebrate. ^_^

You mean that holiday that happened over a month ago?
Wat?
 

A Pretty Panda

fuckin' called it, man
#37
Cyber Monday fighting game stuff. They're "lightning deals" so they're only available during a certain time frame.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.ht...docId=1000853511&tag=37928120-20&linkCode=ur2

SCV- $10
SCV Stick- $100
TTT2- $30

Along with the other stuff I posted before which are available throughout the day.

Oh yeah was meant to post this before

Amazon has matched some of those and also has some other fighting game related deals.

http://www.amazon.com/b/ref=br_lf_m_6131121011_pglink_1?ie=UTF8&node=6131121011&plgroup=3&plpage=1

MK9: Komplete Edition (I guess includes the DLC characters)- $20
MK vs. DC- $15
UMVC3- $20
DOA5- $30
P4A- $30
AE- $17
BBCS EXTEND standard edition- $15/ Limited edition- $20

WWE All-Stars Brawl Stick- $30
Street Fighter X Tekken - Arcade FightStick PRO- $100
Street Fighter X Tekken - Arcade FightStick Cross- $100
Mad Catz MLG Pro Controller (pad)- $80
Mad Catz Street Fighter X Tekken - FightPad SD (has different designs)- $20
These are showing up as "currently unavailabile" for some reason but if you just search for the game within amazon it should be fine.
 
#38
Quoting from the other thread-
This game has hit a major stride in week 1. There are already competent players for all the new characters which usually doesn't happen this early. More Azarel than the other 2 but I've been studying the Bullet matches for tech as well and she has the most potential to be the standout of the new class for just pure insanity later. Guaranteed that what we see now won't be the case later so this is just pure sight seen observations at the moment. So enjoy the below vids. Every vid that has come out this week is below somewhere so plenty to study on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCOPUAZ7Otg&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFc1Plgky80&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJcrmIPa0kM&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Kxi6qVtnfc&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWmkeypyVrg&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqK3XRGf-eM&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sIzMRwGMObQ&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1rHX3jTOH8&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGN8wENFq4c&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_niOxrQRwhU&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t49gFinVyM0&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFQOKMhAWEw&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJ6YC8amrFI&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J96P_X3L_Dk&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zf2jmVNVRkM&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOOWCJdWEoU&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQ1twbm9SrM&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rEvuhHuQ0c8&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zQKr5_cmf0&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rof9Md9mJTk&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DpsLAt43rw&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rd2_Km65hKw&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPJhuRHF8j0&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViKK-DpuIaA&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4fcudjjnjH0&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCXpO8oFk4U&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncoEs6HkvmQ&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnNxp5_r80g&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQNCOZhftNU&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zupk_DFOL8o&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Azm0NZssa7I&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPu4S3dXPJo&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kI8SyxUeSI&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdBakTzjN6Q&feature=plcp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j3hbh5ARyQ&feature=plcp

And...



Bullet, yo ass so fat it crosses over into the 3rd Dimension!!!
 
#39
how was everyone's thanksgiving
Only spent one night playing fighting games during the holidays. 1v1v1 in All-Stars was a riot, ignored SF (even casual Sim turns people off), got bodied in MvC2 (4-13) against my bro-in-law, bodied him in UMVC3 (5-0) and split in Persona and KOF13.

We ended up really enjoying Persona and loved All-Stars because of the crazy lvl3s and having to contend against multiple characters. Wish that game had a wave dash or dodge button instead of block plus move as the dodge button. MvC2 still makes me a salty, nervous wreak. Ended up playing KOF because of the artwork in the background stages.
 
#40
That really is a game issue. I've tried dozens of times in training mode, with no pressure at all, to DHC Spell of Vishanti to Chaotic Flame, and even when I let the stick return to neutral I get Dark Dimension. Capcom really needs to fix this game's input reading. I put that even ahead of changing TACs.
Simple solution: always use HCF/HCB instead of QCF/QCB. Those DPs will never come out that way.
 
#41
That really is a game issue. I've tried dozens of times in training mode, with no pressure at all, to DHC Spell of Vishanti to Chaotic Flame, and even when I let the stick return to neutral I get Dark Dimension. Capcom really needs to fix this game's input reading. I put that even ahead of changing TACs.
If you haven't already returned the stick to neutral when you hit the buttons for your first super, your second one will be a dragon punch.