• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

is it possible to teach yourself how to make a game?

Joe

i know its possible, almost anything is possible but is it realistically possible with little to no background in programming?

are there any good sites, books you can recommend?

also what software and languages are involved?

has everything gotten far too complex that schooling is needed?

Joe

well i'd like to give a shot so im guessing starting with flash and 2d games would be a smart choice. maybe if i really grow a passion for it then the next step is obviously 3d.

Scrow

Still Tagged Accordingly
I'm no expert on game development, but I'm on the road to learning this stuff myself. What I can gather is that it's probably a good idea to get yourself familiar with OpenGL and the C programming language to begin with. Learn about matrices, projections, transformations, clipping, rasterization, coordinate systems and all that kind of stuff. Once you're fairly confident with the basics of real-time computer graphics using OpenGL and C, you can then move onto DirectX and C++. Learning 2D vs 3D first isn't really an issue. 2D graphics are just a special case of 3D graphics.

My suggestion:

1. Learn the language you are going to program your game in. You don't have to be an expert, just know the basics.

2. Start with a simple 2D game. Focus on learning the logic to create the game and not the game itself. Gradually make the game more complex without focusing on graphics.

3. Attempt the jump to 3D. Make a simple game that has lighting and texture mapping along with some camera movement and 3D collision detection. Gradually make it more complex.

4. Create the game you really want to make (if you have that kind of time).

RiZ III

Well if you want to start with 2d then heres my advice to you.