• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Nintendo Maintenance/Operational Status Thread

L~A

Member
Welcome to the Nintendo Maintenance thread, entirely dedicated to the maintenance periods for the Nintendo online services (eShop, online game, etc...). Here, you'll find the day and time of regular maintenance, extended maintenance and even incidents. Feel free to discuss, ask any question you may have, or even report incidents. Got a suggestion? Fire away !



For starters, here's the official Network Maintenance Information/Operational Status pages :

- UK/Europe
- USA
- Japan

Maintenance

Nintendo Switch: online play (unspecified games)

The downtime will take place on the following day(s) and at the following time:

Europe: October 19th (2.50AM to 4.30AM)
UK: October 19th (1.50AM to 3.30AM)
North America (EST): October 18th (8.50PM to 10.30PM)
North America (PST): October 18th (5.50PM to 7.30PM)
Japan: October 19th (9.50AM to 11.30AM)

Mobile: Fire Emblem Heroes

The downtime will take place on the following day(s) and at the following time:

Europe: October 24th (1AM to 4AM)
UK: October 24th (12AM to 3AM)
North America (EST): October 23rd (7PM to 10PM)
North America (PST): October 23rd (4PM to 7PM)
Japan: October 24th (8AM to 11AM)

Incidents

Nothing for now.

Current operational status :



***

FAQ

- What is this thread?

This thread is here for people to learn about/discuss maintenance periods impacting the Nintendo online services. There's usually no special threads for those, so I thought that a central "hub" for that would be pretty useful.

- Is this OP up to date?

Pretty much yes. I check the Nintendo Maintenance Info page pretty much every day, but if you notice something, send me a PM!

- What is the Extended Maintenance?

It's special maintenance that is usually announced a few days before it actually takes place, and is separate from the weekly maintenance. Nintendo usually have such maintenance before releasing a new firmware for its consoles, though such a maintenance is not always followed by a new firmware update. Major firmware updates always need some special maintenance, which is why it's useful to look at Extended Maintenance periods to predict system updates (though it's not an exact science, or a science at all).

- What does 3DS / Wii U entails?

Pretty much every online service on the 3DS / Wii U, but mainly the Nintendo eShop. It doesn't include 3rd-party online servers (for online play).

- What about Miiverse?

I believe this falls into the "Wii U" category, though Nintendo doesn't seem to give any info on Miiverse updates. Miiverse updates are usually rolled out without warning, and it's not sure when new features are added.

- I got a suggestion, should I contact the police?

Just send me PM, or leave a message (I prefer a PM, since it's unlikely I'll miss it).

- Is Half-Life 3 out yet?

No.

Thanks Nick (@TruenoOscuro) for the really cool banner!
 

L~A

Member
Ok, there's a pretty big maintenance period coming up for Pokémon X and Y today, here's the details :

Extended maintenance (special maintenance, often happens before system updates if for the Wii U / 3DS)

- Pokémon X and Y : Online Play, Rankings, etc... on Monday > Tuesday, Dec. 2
a) Europe : 1PM to 1PM (Monday > Tuesday)
b) UK : 12PM to 12pM (Monday > Tuesday)
c) USA (East Coast) : 7AM to 7AM (Monday > Tuesday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 44M to 4AM (Monday)
e) Japan : 9PM to 9PM (Monday > Tuesday)

I know there's already been quite a few maintenance periods for the game, but most of them were announced/took place at time when I couldnt check the maintenance page, and I didn't think updating the post would make much sense AFTER the facts.

By the way, 3DS update looks unlikely for this week (at least, for now). There should be an extended maintenance before the update is rolled.
 

Jackano

Member
I believe the 3DS update can be anytime between monday next week and 31th december. Not confident for this week already.
 

L~A

Member
Well, they didn't give any date whatsoever, so yeah, it could be any day starting from now (I don't think they've given any dates for their major update for a quite while now, no wonder why).

The 1st major Wii U update came on a Friday, so anything's possible, but yeah, better not expect anything this week.
 

L~A

Member
Small maintenance for Wii Karaoke U tomorrow :

- Wii Karaoke U : other online services on Wednesday
a) Europe : 2AM to 3.30AM
b) UK : 1AM to 2.30AM
c) JP : 10AM to 11.30AM

And the Pokémon X maintenance should be over in about 1h30.
 

L~A

Member
Big maintenance next week :


Extended maintenance (special maintenance, often happens before system updates if for the Wii U / 3DS)

- Wii U (Nintendo eShop), 3DS (Nintendo eShop), Wii (Wii Shop Channel), DS (Nintendo DSi Shop) on Monday > Tuesday, Dec. 9 and 10.

a) Europe : 6PM to 5AM (Monday > Tuesday)
b) UK : 5PM to 4AM (Monday > Tuesday)
c) USA (East Coast) : 12PM to 11PM (Monday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 9AM to 8PM (Monday)
e) Japan : 2AM to 1PM (Monday > Tuesday)
 

Phazon

Member
Big maintenance next week :


Extended maintenance (special maintenance, often happens before system updates if for the Wii U / 3DS)

- Wii U (Nintendo eShop), 3DS (Nintendo eShop), Wii (Chaîne boutique Wii), DS (Nintendo DSi Shop) on Monday > Tuesday, Dec. 9 and 10.

a) Europe : 6PM to 5AM (Monday > Tuesday)
b) UK : 5PM to 4AM (Monday > Tuesday)
c) USA (East Coast) : 12PM to 11PM (Monday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 9AM to 8PM (Monday)
e) Japan : 2AM to 1PM (Monday > Tuesday)

Preparing for Miiverse 3DS :p

Now all we need is a Nintendo Direct and we're set.
 

L~A

Member
Incidents

Miiverse (on Wii U) is currently experiencing some problems since :

a) Europe : 4.59AM
b) UK : 3.59AM
c) USA East Coast : 10.59PM
d) USA West Coast : 7.59PM
e) Japan : 12.59PM



Everything seems to be working fine for me...

Edit : back to normal.
 

L~A

Member
Sorry for the double-post, but the Extended Maintenance for the Nintendo eShop + Wii Shop Channel + DSi Shop has now started. It will end in 11 hours, aka 5AM (EU) / 4AM (UK) / 11PM (US East) / 8PM (US West) / 1PM (Japan).



3DS update should be released sometime after that maintenance period.
 

spliced

Member
Just FYI for anyone that doesn't know you can type into Google 'current time in New York' or some other big city names(NY is eastern time Los Angeles is pacific time) to find out what the time is in those places and compare it to your time.

I know the OP has the time stuff covered in this topic but since time questions come up a lot it may be useful at some other time.
 
I expect this very soon - does anyone know when this should be arriving approximately?

8pm tonight. ( or very soon after ... like next day etc)

Emily Rogers, the awesome, tweeted yesterday that after the update 3DS owners would be very happy

Monday night, after the maintenance, will be exciting for 3DS owners. I'm not allowed to say why, but I'm sure you can figure it out. - Emily Rogers (@Emi1yRogers) https://twitter.com/Emi1yRogers/statuses/409099745659875328 December 6, 2013
 
I want to do a 3DS to 3DS XL transfer but I have ACNL on both

I don't want to wait after this thing to do it since it might change things for better or worst

does transfers still work without the Network?
 

L~A

Member
11 hours? damn

Yup, it's definitely one of the biggest maintenance since the launch of the 3DS

Miiverse for 3DS finally coming?

I expect this very soon - does anyone know when this should be arriving approximately?

Yup, 3DS update should be released within the hour after the update. Click here to know when that'll be in your timezone.

I want to do a 3DS to 3DS XL transfer but I have ACNL on both

I don't want to wait after this thing to do it since it might change things for better or worst

does transfers still work without the Network?

If you have ACNL on both consoles, then the target console's data will be replaced by the data from the console from which you're doing the transfer.

By the way, it's a terrible idea to do something as sensitive as system transfer doing maintenance. We know you need to be connected to the internet while doing the transfer, and it also transfers the eShop account, so it's quite likely you can't do a system transfer during maintenance. Even if you could, I strongly advise you to postpone the transfer, you don't want any funny things to happen to your ACNL now, would you? ;)
 
Yup, it's definitely one of the biggest maintenance since the launch of the 3DS





Yup, 3DS update should be released within the hour after the update. Click here to know when that'll be in your timezone.



If you have ACNL on both consoles, then the target console's data will be replaced by the data from the console from which you're doing the transfer.

By the way, it's a terrible idea to do something as sensitive as system transfer doing maintenance. We know you need to be connected to the internet while doing the transfer, and it also transfers the eShop account, so it's quite likely you can't do a system transfer during maintenance. Even if you could, I strongly advise you to postpone the transfer, you don't want any funny things to happen to your ACNL now, would you? ;)

good advice I'll do this after I'll just back up my SD cards for now
 

L~A

Member
Incidents

The Nintendo eShop (Wii U and 3DS) is currently unavailable due to an ongoing incident, which officially started at :

a) Europe : 10:09AM
b) UK : 09:09AM
c) USA (East Coast) : 4:09AM
d) USA (West Coast) : 1:09AM
e) Japan : 6:09PM



So don't worry if you can't access the eShop after updating your 3DS : it's not your fault, you didn't break anything.
 

Mpl90

Two copies sold? That's not a bomb guys, stop trolling!!!
Can we contact anyone in any way to know when the problem should be solved?
 

L~A

Member
Unfortunately, I don't think we can. You can try sending a message to customer support, but I doubt they know anything (yet).

By the way, the Nintendo DSi Shop is now down, too.

Incidents

The Nintendo eShop (Wii U and 3DS) and the Nintendo DSi Shop are currently unavailable due to an ongoing incident, which officially started at :

a) Europe : 10:09AM
b) UK : 09:09AM
c) USA (East Coast) : 4:09AM
d) USA (West Coast) : 1:09AM
e) Japan : 6:09PM

 

Mpl90

Two copies sold? That's not a bomb guys, stop trolling!!!
What do you mean? This is not a scheduled outage. Nintendo probably don't even know themselves.

Who said otherwise? Just I'd like to know if there are estimates of when the service's up.

P.S. When checking the DSi Window, it says the problem started at the same time as on 3DS and Wii U. So, I think updates on that page aren't as fast as they should XD
 
Who said otherwise? Just I'd like to know if there are estimates of when the service's up.

If there was an estimate it would be on the page. There was another maintenance earlier today, and the end time was delayed 15 mins and then 15 mins again. So just add it to your favorites ;)
 

L~A

Member
Who said otherwise? Just I'd like to know if there are estimates of when the service's up.

P.S. When checking the DSi Window, it says the problem started at the same time as on 3DS and Wii U. So, I think updates on that page aren't as fast as they should XD

I think it's just Nintendo not realising DSi Shop was also down (or maybe they put the servers offline themselves). The page is updated quite frequently when there's some incidents like this one.
 

L~A

Member
Incidents

The Nintendo eShop (Wii U and 3DS) is currently unavailable due to an ongoing incident, which officially started at :

a) Europe : 10:09AM
b) UK : 09:09AM
c) USA (East Coast) : 4:09AM
d) USA (West Coast) : 1:09AM
e) Japan : 6:09PM

Nintendo DSi Shop incident is over since :

a) Europe : 2.37PM
b) UK : 1.37PM
c) USA (East Coast) : 8.37AM
d) USA (West Coast) : 5.37AM
e) Japan : 10.37PM

Downtime was 4h28 long.

 
As Khaz pointed out, the message recently changed and now says:

“Intermittently unable to connect currently, due to a high concentration of people trying to access the service. We apologise for the inconvenience, and thank you for your patience.”
 

L~A

Member
Yes, it says so in the OP (forgot to add it in my previous post, though). Looks like it's actually online (I managed to get on the Wii U eShop), but the servers are under quite the heavy load.
 

L~A

Member
Looks like there's some maintenance for Pokémon, this Friday.

Extended maintenance (special maintenance, often happens before system updates if for the Wii U / 3DS)

- Pokémon X and Y : online play, leaderboards, etc... on Friday, Dec. 13th

a) Europe : 4:55AM to 7AM (Friday)
b) UK : 3:55AM to 6AM (Friday)
c) USA (East Coast) : 10:55PM to 1AM (Thursday > Friday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 7:55PM to 10PM (Thursday)
e) Japan : 12:55PM to 3PM (Friday)

Click here for your timezone.
 

L~A

Member
Sorry for the... er... triple post, but quite meaty maintenance for Pokémon X and Y coming this Monday :

- Pokémon X and Y : online play, leaderboards, etc... on Monday > Tuesday Dec. 16 and 17.

a) Europe : 7AM to 1AM (Monday > Tuesday)
b) UK : 6AM to Midnight (Monday > Tuesday)
c) USA (East Coast) : 1AM to 7PM (Monday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 10PM to 4PM (Sunday > Monday)
e) Japan : 3PM to 8AM (Monday > Tuesday)

Click here for your timezone.

I'd love to know why such a long maintenance period, a few days after another one.
 

L~A

Member
I don't think so, Pokémon Bank won't be launched before Dec 25th (Japan) / Dec. 27 (NA and Europe). And can you have maintenance for a service that hasn't been launched?
 

L~A

Member
Looks like this morning's maintenance was actually for the update that was released a few hours ago.

- Pokémon X and Y : online play, leaderboards, etc... on Friday, Dec. 13th

a) Europe : 4:55AM to 6:08AM (Friday)
b) UK : 3:55AM to 5:08AM (Friday)
c) USA (East Coast) : 10:55PM to 12:08AM (Thursday > Friday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 7:55PM to 9:08PM (Thursday)
e) Japan : 12:55PM to 2:08PM (Friday)

Maybe adding miiverse features?

I highly doubt that. There's already a Miiverse community for the game, and I don't think they'll have more than that.
 

L~A

Member
Some new maintenance happening this Wednesday (minor, probably Miiverse related).

Extended maintenance (special maintenance, often happens before system updates if for the Wii U / 3DS)

- Nintendo 3DS : online play, leaderboards, etc... on Wednesday, Dec. 18th.

a) Europe : 2AM to 3AM
b) UK : 1AM to 2AM
c) USA (East Coast) : 8PM to 9PM (Tuesday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 5PM to 6PM (Tuesday)
e) Japan : 10AM to 11AM.

Click here to know to get the time in your timezone.
By the way, the Pokémon X and Y maintenance is still going on, will end in less than 7 hours.
 

L~A

Member
Ok, several things today :

1) surprise Wii U maintenance this morning, which apparently ended at 1AM (GMT+1), just like the Pokémon maintenance).
2) no 3DS maintenance this Wednesday, after all.
3) new maintenance this Wednesday :

Extended maintenance (special maintenance, often happens before system updates if for the Wii U / 3DS)

- Wii Sports Club (Wii U) : online play, leaderboards on Wednesday, Dec. 18

a) Europe : 3.15PM to 4PM
b) UK : 2.15PM to 3PM
c) USA (East Coast) : 9.15AM to 10AM
d) USA (West Coast) : 6.15AM to 7AM
e) Japan : 11.15PM to 12AM (Wednesday > Thursday)

Click here for the time in your timezone!

I think I have an idea what it might be for, but I don't want to get my (our your) hopes up.
 

L~A

Member
So, I look away for a few hours, and Nintendo managed to totally slaughter their servers. Good job! :p

Incidents

There's currently an incident ongoing for the following services : Wii U (General Online services, Nintendo eShop), 3DS (Nintendo eShop), Nintendo DS (DSi Shop), Wii (Wii Shop Channel) :

- Europe : 11.08AM to ??? (Nintendo eShop Wii U & 3DS) / 2.15PM to ??? (Wii U General services) / 5.50PM to ??? (Wii and DSi Shop)
- UK : 10.08AM to ?? (Nintendo eShop Wii U & 3DS) / 1.15PM to ??? (Wii U General services) / 4.50PM to ??? (Wii and DSi Shop)
- USA (East Coast) : 5.08AM to ??? (Nintendo eShop Wii U & 3DS) / 8.15AM to ??? (Wii U General services) / 11.50AM to ??? (Wii and DSi Shop)
- USA (West Coast) : 2.08AM to ??? (Nintendo eShop Wii U & 3DS) / 5.15AM to ??? (Wii U General services) / 8.50AM to ??? (Wii and DSi Shop)
- Japan : 7.08PM to ??? (Nintendo eShop Wii U & 3DS) / 10.15PM to ??? (Wii U General services) / Day +1 1.50PM to ??? (Wii and DSi Shop)

Cause of the incident : too many people trying to use the services at once.


 

kuppy

Member
Guess the Holliday ad campaign worked out good
I sure hope so


Thanks for the thread, LA, subbed.
 
Top Bottom