Qatar government fair sells antisemitic books like 'Lies Spread by the Jews'

Feb 21, 2018
1,909
1,155
270
#1
Qatar government fair sells antisemitic books like 'Lies Spread by the Jews'

Qatar's 46-year-old international book fair kicked off on November 29 with the theme, "Doha, A City of Knowledge and Conscience." the Anti-Defamation League finds the theme a bit ironic.



In an open letter to William Grant, the US Chief of Misson and Chargé d’Affaires at the American embassy in Qatar, the ADL blasted the Doha International Book Fair for its inclusion of antisemitic texts.


These include books like, "Lies Spread by the Jews," "The Myth of the Nazi Gas Chambers," and "Talmud of Secrets: Facts Exposing the Jewish Schemes to Control the World."



The fair will also promote David Duke's seminal antisemitic text on Jewish influence in the US and Henry Ford's "The International Jew" which builds on the arguments laid out in the "Protocols of the Elders of Zion."



“Once again, this high-profile, government-sponsored book fair is being used to promote blatantly anti-Semitic books that deny the Holocaust and accuse Jews of controlling the world and trying to undermine Islam,” ADL National Director Jonathan Greenblatt said. “We call on the U.S. embassy to make clear to Qatar’s government that this hate is unacceptable.”



The event will take place from November 29 to December 8 and will see the participation of 30 countries, including the US embassy, and the exhibition of over 100,000 texts.

The book fair management describe the event as "not just a market for book sales and trading, it is a powerful platform of promoting intercultural exchange, and dedicated human values, and community development."



"The 28th edition of the Doha International Book Fair is being held in an extraordinary context. Our beloved country Qatar is passing through the siege, making this cultural event a special influence for intellectuals who believe in the role of writers in raising social awareness and confronting the challenges of the stage," said Salah bin Ghanem Al Ali, Qatar's Minister of Culture and Sports.



"This course is intended to enhance the value of both books and reading in a society that is witnessing a smooth transition towards progress in the areas of cultural innovation and industry."



Greenblatt calls on the Qatari government to remove the hateful texts.


"I ask that use your contacts with the book fair’s governmental organizers – and with the Qatari government more broadly – to ensure as soon as possible that this sort of hatred is no longer propagated at an event that boasts of the participation of the U.S. Embassy," Greenblatt wrote to Grant in his open letter.
But remember they don't hate Jews, they are just anti Israel amrite?
 
Jan 19, 2007
10,806
290
1,015
#4
Not gonna lie, I chuckled a little like some sort of really bad meme but I'm not putting anyone above anyone in the shit show going on in the region. It's a race to the bottom it seems.
 
Aug 17, 2018
155
160
170
#5
"Protocols of the Elders of Zion."

I've read this one. Henry Ford funded the printing of 500,000 copies.

People can read what they like. I don't agree with Das Kapital but I've read it.

The Anti-Defamation League (Israel) supporting suppression (book burning). How ironic.