• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

SMT:Nocturne LTTP

Hi fellow GAF members! This will be my first thread, so I want to kick it off right!

First off, I'm a complete newbie to the SMT series. Having never played a game in the SMT series, I wanted to play a few titles that speak to me, as I've basically missed out on an entire series that's well known for having some great games among them.

maxresdefault.jpg

I completed Persona 5 this year, and was instantly hooked to the battle system, the demon negotiations and the aspect of filling out your compendium of cool demons. That was good enough reason to check out SMT:Nocturne which many say is one of the best SMT games in the series.

eca1574f5e7f3472dd8311abe0182b2a.jpg

I'm only about 4/5 hours in right now, and having a great time. The beginning is really strange, but I also did not know what to expect. I really like the artstyle in this game, even though it's a PS2 title it still looks nice thanks to it's cel shaded artstyle.

151226-Shin_Megami_Tensei_-_Nocturne_(USA)-1.jpg

So far I just hit up the Underpass, where the Manikin's live. So I'm not really far into the game yet but so far I'm loving it. The stramge vibe of the story and all the characters surrounding it really have me interested as to where the story is going. The visuals are awesome as well.

151226-Shin_Megami_Tensei_-_Nocturne_(USA)-7.jpg
81-SMT102.jpg

So yeah, loving this so far. The demon negotiations are really well done. So far I think I will try to spec in magic, and luck. I'm lvl 14 and my party consists of:

-High Pixie lvl 12
-Angel lvl 11
-Isora lvl 14

And I have a few others as backup like Will 'o Wisp, Hua Po, Lilim and Apsaras.

The music is pretty damn good so far as well, but that is to be expected if it's the same legendary composer :). Also I haven't died yet, so I guess I'm doing alright so far?

_Ryo_