• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Help a brother out, calling all GAF online videogamers

Jotaro

Banned
Ok, now I cannot play videogames at all due to my tumor issues (as some of you know), but it will get cured in a few months. :)

I have not played a videogame since september 2003 because of this, but that hasn't stopped me from making a backlog of videogames, many of which include online play. I have all platforms, and I am a gaming system agnostic. I have for example: Half-Life 2, Halo 2, Hot Shots Golf Fore, along with many, many others that will allow me to play online with some of you.

Of course, I do not have Xbox Live as of yet, but I think I'm going to try it. I'm a total Xbox Live newbie tough. I played online with my PS2 and I enjoyed it, but I do not have an headset as for yet (which I plan to fix). My PC can handle recent games. So I wonder what games and/or platform would be better for me? I've played no game since Soul Calibur 2 for the Xbox when it launched, so while I have heavily followed the videogames, I will need a lot of catch-up, especially when it comes to online gaming.

I am particularly interested in what games have the best communities, and GAF communities. I know about Xbox Live more than PS2, but has PS2 got interesting, newbie friendly communities, some that might me hotspots for GAFers? I would like as much information as possible on such things, it's not for now, but for sure I will have zero social life when I will be cured, so that might be a good idea to keep me in contact with gamers, and to play games in the same way.