• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

K-Drama addiction: a community or do I need an intervention?

near

Gold Member
Hi, I'm near, and I'm an addict. So it started a few years back in 2017, I remember because the high was so good that I actually started tallying every time I used! 44 dramas and 637 episodes later, and I'm now an expert in dosage. I've decided to no longer feel guilty about using, and actually attempt to convince you that the stigma surrounding this genre is a lie!

You may have heard of the Oscar award-winning 2019 film called Parasite, or the dirty minded cinematic craftsman known as Park Chan-wook from Oldboy. Well, these Korean filmmakers are small fry in the long form storytelling scene in Korea, and the genre writer that's talk of the town is Kim Eun-hee. Her world building, and scenario staging, seasoned with intricately evolving character stories, has made me fall in love with this genre they refer to as K-Drama.

The side effects are true, the genre is filled with romantic melodramas, and the typical tropes normally associated with K-Dramas. But I'm certain with the right guidance and supplements you can avoid that and only reap the benefits. We all know how Squid Games blind sided the western world and had us spazzing-out uncontrollably on social media, that shit even made content creators replicate awful things! I won't get you that high, I promise.

RPnT4jx.png

Signal
A crime drama that spans from 1989 to 2015 via a walkie-talkie. You must start here to open your mind to the wonders of this universe.

8wqxiwn.png

Kingdom
Historical zombie epic that explores societal issues, politics and class divide. Game of Thrones meets The Walking Dead.

2utunMR.png

D.P.
Just watch this. David Fincher has been trying to make this for the better part of he's career. D.P. stands for David Pathetic.