• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Ubisoft expects Assassin's Creed Origins to sell above Syndicate, but below Unity

Nirolak

Mrgrgr
Announced on their fiscal call. Relatively restrained expectations, since I think that would make it the second worst selling mainline title, and perhaps below Brotherhood and Revelations as well.

On the upside (more optimistic hopes), they still expect it to be below Black Flag, which was 11 million (whereas Unity was more like 7 million).

CHC

Sensible, since Unity seems to have been the zenith of both interest and disappointment.

Personally, I think it'll do better than that, but I'm not a professional. It's just a unique setting and a seemingly thorough re-evaluation of the AC formula.

Neonep

There just doesn't seem to be that much hype for it.
Of all of the major titles dropping this year I hear about Origins the least. It's like that year off did nothing. Assassin's Creed needs to take several years off. Ubisoft needs to bring back Prince Of Persia in some form.

jtb

Banned
Of all of the major titles dropping this year I hear about Origins the least. It's like that year off did nothing. Assassin's Creed needs to take several years off. Ubisoft needs to bring back Prince Of Persia in some form.

Or splinter cell

SomTervo

Sensible, since Unity seems to have been the zenith of both interest and disappointment.

Personally, I think it'll do better than that, but I'm not a professional. It's just a unique setting and a seemingly thorough re-evaluation of the AC formula.

Agreed on all counts.

Although I disagree with the poster above: I think there's quite a lot of sincere excitement for Origins. I think it boils down to:
- going back to the series roots in terms of lore
- interesting setting
- mixing up game mechanics

Sensible, since Unity seems to have been the zenith of both interest and disappointment