• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Any advice for a first-time visitor to Japan?

DGrayson

Mod Team and Bat Team
Staff Member
I don’t know about it. We went to Japan before I started learning Japanese and we found that in Tokyo, you can get by easily. Outside of Tokyo is a different story.

Edit: But we did learn the basics - ohaiyou, sumimasen, arigatou, etc.

I was definately surprised in Tokyo how people didnt know English. At museums and the info booth in teh subways it was ok. Restaurants I found to be the opposite. Also its just how they treat you. Not rude but no desire to help you in English which is fine, just different than travelling in other places like Europe etc.

Luckily I knew a handful of phrases already which helped. Going to Kyoto after that was surprising as many more people knew English as I guess its a bit more reliant on foreign tourists.

A friend of mine went to Japan once. He went off exploring by himself and got completely lost. He ended up finding a local police station in a small town. He went in there and asked if anyone spoke English. The man in charge said 'yes, you' and slammed the door in his face.

I don't know what use this story is to anyone, it just always made me laugh.

Bluntman

Is it true that Japan has like pubs or whatever dedicated to local girls hitting on westerners? Or is that some urban legend? 😅

Porcile

Is it true that Japan has like pubs or whatever dedicated to local girls hitting on westerners? Or is that some urban legend? 😅

Reverse and that and maybe true? Also you gotta remember the super hot Japanese people, like ones who look like they could be TV stars or celebs or whatever, don't go anywhere near foreigners even if you speak Japanese.

nush

It was true, we have/had a poster here who was bemoaning he could not use those bars anymore because the girls all moved onto the dating apps.