• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Does a person's name or/and surname affect how you feel about them?

Does a person's name affect how you feel about them?

• Total voters

greencoder

Just curious, because my surname is close to Ismail (a muslim name) and I live in Europe.

Last edited:

QSD

When I was a student I read a social psychology paper once where they had found that people named "Dennis" were statistically more likely that average to live in Denver and be dentist as a profession. So yeah names affect stuff on subconscious level

quickwhips

I don't care what's someone name is as long as they tell me how to pronounce it and aren't a fuck up. If they are a fuck up leave me alone.

Last edited:

INC

It can do if its a local surname, thats renowned for a pikey family

Myself I have double barrelled name, thats extremely rare, and most people can't spell, thats literally the only interesting thing about me

poppabk

Cheeks Spread for Digital Only Future
A little bit I guess. It's not like if your name is 'Peregrine' I am gonna hate you outright, I'm just going to have in the back of my mind that you might be from a different background to me.

Patrick S.

Banned
There's actually a phenomenon called "Kevinism" here in Germany. It's basically the observation that people from very lower class households, who typically live on social welfare, tend to name their children with foreign, non-German names. Very common names in these househods are for example: Kevin, Justin, Dustin, Jason, Chantal, Cindy. If your name is Kevin, typically you'll be bullied in school, and later in life have it tougher to find an education or job.