• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Photography: What do you see in the future for digital printing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm studying imaging at university.

For now, it's a matter of cost why we students can not yet explore any other printing process besides ink jet for our digital content. There is something of an image-setter process called dye sublimation which produces great continuous tones, but it is three to five dollars per print for ink and substrate. Our prof’s not going to let us use that thing, nor does it do the size we need. The chemical room is right over in the next lab, but there’s not the funding to run it, especially for experimenting students. There’s a seven-cartridge printer in one of the prof’s offices that we can use for special projects, but what else is there? I don’t know if I’m getting the exposure to varied printing methods that I need. Acquiring new technology to work with in our department shouldn’t be a problem, but I guess the lack of funding is not a new one to many a university.

Printing people, do you know that our digital prints may not last very long? For archive purposes, you’re just going to have the final version archived to retrieve and print at a later time for replacement. I guess, then, that output will consist of these things: digital prints that will not last years upon years, archiving data of the print, and having a computing and printing system that can read and then output the archived image. If that is the case, then if my children are not computer literate enough to move around, manipulate, archive, and output data, then what I produce will not last generations like traditional emulsion-based photos.

-Ray

tetsuoxb