|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:24 AM)
|
Durango/XBox720 devkit on eBay by DAE
#1
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=221100568971
Let's throw our money together. DAE is the guy that leaked the kinect 2 and devkit pictures. https://twitter.com/superDaE/statuse...41234042056704 |
|
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:26 AM)
|
#6
|
|
(08-12-2012, 08:30 AM)
|
#9
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:31 AM)
|
#13
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:32 AM)
|
#16
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:32 AM)
|
#18
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:33 AM)
|
#19
eBay is almost always on the side of the buyer if the complaint is genuine. They guaruntee your cash up to a certain amount if problems arise where the buyer tries to just rip you off. Don't know the policy for purchases that are so expensive though. If it wasn't a Durango devkit then you could just open an "item not as described" claim.
|
|
(08-12-2012, 08:34 AM)
|
#20
LET'S BYE IT FOR NO RAISIN!
|
|
Banned
(08-12-2012, 08:35 AM)
|
#21
|
|
Completely full of experience
(08-12-2012, 08:37 AM)
|
#25
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:41 AM)
|
#30
I want to bid on it but not unless the seller can prove to me that it's not stolen property or in violation of an NDA. Because I don't see how it couldn't be. After seeing what Gizmodo was put through over their purchase of a stolen iPhone 4 prototype I want to know all the details on how that dev kit is free and clear.
The seller's Twitter icon is furry porn, which isn't confidence inspiring regardless of whether or not that's a real dev kit. It's also worth noting the eBay listing puts that dev kit in Delaware, but the seller's twitter location claims to be Raleigh, NC. Epic is in Cary, NC - that seems the most likely place where it could have escaped from. Microsoft also has a campus near Charlotte but I don't think they do any XBox development there. I've actually been there twice and was told it's mostly support for government agencies.
Last edited by FStop7; 08-12-2012 at 08:46 AM.
|
|
Banned
(08-12-2012, 08:41 AM)
|
#31
im guessing its stamped with the developers ID or something that could identify him, same with the controller.
This could very well be a very very clever way for DAE to get Microsoft to acknowledge this is indeed it by pulling the ebay listing. That would be smart, i dont think he wants to sell it. I could be wrong. By the way, yes i would say this is bulldozing a BILLION NDA documents and confidentiality agreements. I have no doubt of that. Especially as its pre-release |
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:42 AM)
|
#32
Not sure any media would buy it publicly though. If this was real I think it would've been so much smarter to keep low and sell it to some magazine behind the scenes, offering proof of it being legit. Therefore I call fake.
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:42 AM)
|
#33
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:47 AM)
|
#36
I don't see how this can work out for either the buyer or the seller, Microsft's lawyers most likely already contacted eBay and PayPal to report stolen property being sold or it's a scam in which case both parties will also comply.
Last edited by hym; 08-12-2012 at 08:51 AM.
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:49 AM)
|
#37
Well if this devkit is genuine and microsoft catches wind of it, they will probably get ebay to take it down, which is why it's not very smart to have this run on for so long if you want to sell it.
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:49 AM)
|
#38
Seems very risky. Seen many X360 XDK's from eBay be pulled so I doubt this will stay up for long if it is actually legit.
I'm not sure what the process is for tracking one though. I imagine it could connect to PartnerNet and if so tracked? And I'm sure Microsoft will be able to gather information easily from eBay of the sellers details such as name, address and such so it seems pretty stupid to do. Hell I sold a Killzone 2 promo back in the day about a week before it released and Sony went nuts threatening legal action against myself. Even though they were probably just trying to shit me up they had the power to remove the promo within an hour or so. Edit 31 bids already at $11,000
Last edited by Gizmowned; 08-12-2012 at 08:53 AM.
|
|
Member
(08-12-2012, 08:50 AM)
|
#39
I wonder why he's selling it rather than publishing the details on it. He'd get millions of hits if he put up a site that broke down the full specs. I'd think he'd get a lot more money by doing that than by selling the box on eBay without even proving it's real.
|
|
He's not our sharpest knife. In fact, he's one of our dullest.
(08-12-2012, 08:52 AM)
|
#41
Microsoft will have it shut down by this afternoon.
|
|
Junior Member
(08-12-2012, 08:54 AM)
|
#43
https://twitter.com/superDaE/status/234555564041068544
Quote:
|
|
Banned
(08-12-2012, 08:54 AM)
|
#45
Its gotta be the property of some pretty decent sized development house and they are probably just letting him have his fun. No way would they let him sell it. Yeah fake auctions tend to do that. |