• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Need help finding new router or something to extend wifi

Status
Not open for further replies.

Orkidea

Foreword: I'm not tech savvy

So I'm using the router given by my internet provider. It's in my computer room downstairs and I get good connection in that room but for my family who reside most of the time upstairs, they have horrible connection. And I've noticed certain parts of the house (further away from the router) have the worst connection, sometimes not even connecting.

What are some decent routers I can buy from Best buy to give a better connection throughout the house? Or is there any type of devices I can put upstairs to better connect?

darthbob

If the house is wired for it, then I'd go with a powerline-over-ethernet solution.

That, or a wireless repeater.

DJ_Lae

More powerful router would help, although they can get pricey (I have a Nighthawk, which is probably overkill for most situations).

I also have a little extender that I keep in the basement for a couple of the rooms, as the signal from upstairs has a really tough time penetrating. Feels like the walls are made of lead. One of those is probably your best bet, as they're simple to use and reasonably effective (just get an AC one if you need the speed).

DopeyFish

Not bitter, just unsweetened
Asus RT-ac68u has been absolutely fantastic for me

used to have difficulty getting signal just outside my house... now i get signal at the top of my street lol

Orkidea

I also have a little extender that I keep in the basement for a couple of the rooms, as the signal from upstairs has a really tough time penetrating. Feels like the walls are made of lead. One of those is probably your best bet, as they're simple to use and reasonably effective (just get an AC one if you need the speed).