• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

FIU Bridge Collapse

3rdman

I don't know if anyone has been watching the news or not...This happened right by my house. Apparently 5 people are dead (crushed) under the bridge after is slammed into the street.

I am not an engineer but it appears that the bridge was not being installed properly. The bridge was meant to be a suspension-type with half overhanging the street. A shorter section was to be done over an uneven plain on the FIU campus. The center was to be a tower that would "suspend" the weight of both sides...here is the kick in the balls: they appear to have installed the longest section only over the weekend without the tower in place and nothing holding the weight under the center of the bridge over the street!

I'm certain they will claim that the numbers showed no issue with this but clearly they were wrong...heads are gonna roll...what were they thinking???

3rdman

Before...
bridge-model.jpg

During..
IMG_4387-768x576.jpg

After...
105068494-DYWSBCVVwAEbuQC.600x400.jpg

OH-MyCar

I'm actually taking some graduate courses at FIU, but luckily I'm always at the Biscayne Bay campus. My phone's been blowing up in the past couple of hours from every relative I've not heard from in years.

That area is cursed, though. I must've received a campus alert text every other week last year for MMC pedestrians being in hit & run accidents and now this happens.

TrainedRage

Banned
Ban all bridges! Write to your congressman and get ready to protest lack of infrastructure to save future lives.

Seriously how does this happen? Same with the I94 bridge collapse in MN. Just no one doing their job and checking structural integrity? Or shortcuts taken on the build?

Last edited:

Jezan