• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Let's talk next-gen game engines

So I'm not an expert on the matter by any stretch of the imagination, but I started to think...what does GAF think is the most viable game engine for the next generation of video games? What does each bring to the table? I can only state the simple things, but what do you guys feel is the most robust? Most refined and efficient? Most accessible to developers?

This is pretty much all I can think of for now. If there are some I've missed, please do let me know :)

Let's go over the engines we know so far are targeted towards next gen:

Unreal Engine 4

Probably the most well known of game engines of course is UE. What do we know so far about this engine?

-Been in development since 2003
-Real time global illumination using "voxel cone tracing"
-"Kismet" debugging engine allows devs to directly see code while testing
-Voluminous smoke and particle effects

UE4_Elemental_Cine_screen_0001.jpg

UE4_Elemental_Cine_screen_0003.jpg

UE4_Elemental_Cine_screen_00013.jpg

original.jpg

Unreal Engine 3?

Apparently, there have been some major upgrades done to the UE3 engine. Enough to almost completely differentiate it from current gen versions of the engine. Take a look at the "Samaritan" demo from Epic, or Star Wars 1313.

-Real time dynamic lighting
-Bokeh depth of field
-Reflections, lighting, shading eyegasms

CryEngine 3

We've already seen this engine in action beginning with Crysis 2, and now Crysis 3. Needless to say it looks absolutely stunning in C3.

-Subsurface scattering
-Real time dynamic illumination
-Real time volumetric cloud shadows, tesselation galore, real time area lighting
-Top secret fucking toad tech

Fox Engine

Not much is known about this engine, but supposedly we're "current gen" aspects of it in MGS: Ground Zeroes.