• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

LttP: Dark Souls II: Scholar of the First Sin (PS4)

Neiteio

This is a follow-up to the thread where I was debating getting this game. To recap my situation: I've completed Demon's Souls, Dark Souls and Bloodborne — including all 10 chalice dungeons in Bloodborne. Now I'm hungry for more. I was worried that going from BB to DS2 would be jarring, for a number of reasons. I know there are many BB players who found themselves unable to stick with DS2 for one reason or another.

Well, I'm happy to report that I'm loving DS2 so far. I'm playing the SotFS edition on the PS4. Anyone sitting on the fence, give it a try!

PROGRESS SO FAR:

I started playing last night. I'm a knight, currently wearing the Drangleic armor, gauntlets and leggings, and the falconer's helm. I'm wielding a broadsword, handaxe and club. I'm finding the club most useful so far. I think my starting gift was a human effigy.

I've defeated the Last Giant and Pursuer at the Cardinal Tower in the Forest of Fallen Giants... I had to strip off all my clothes to handle Pursuer, lol... From there I flew to the Lost Bastille, defeated Pursuer AGAIN, and brute-forced my way past mobs of sword-toting soldiers to find the Ruin Sentinels... But the path there is too much at the moment — I'm struggling to deal with the throng of enemies leading to the boss. So I went to Heide's Tower of Flame, where I defeated Dragonrider. I've now reached No Man's Wharf... Last time I played, I lit countless torches in the place, taking down each and every enemy, until some strange beast killed me.

I could've leveled up several times with the amount of souls I dropped and failed to retrieve. But hey, at least the torches are lit!!

IMPRESSIONS: