• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

The Pokémon Company Sues Fan for Copyright Infringement, Demands $4,000 in Damages

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zolf

I'm not a lawyer but the guy should just ignore their demands until they actually take him to court, forget trying to raise the money or whatever since their demands don't have any weight unless some judgement is rendered against him. I really doubt they would actually put in the time and expense of taking him to court over $4000.

sakipon

Thread title seems misleading, should be sues cafe instead of sues fan. I doubt they'd care if he held a free Pokemon party at his home or some hall. But the guy has been luring fans into his cafe for several years in a row. He's making profit.

I mean, I guess if you lack basic reading comprehension.

This might be news to you, but a ton of consumers only glance at things and assume whatever. Therefore use of official art in advertising is protected and so it should be.

JoeM86

Again, there has to be something more to this.

Yes it does. Just like if Naughty Dog were to do something similar, it would still lie with Sony as they are owned by them. Even if this wasn't decided by the heads of Nintendo themselves saying "Nintendo is at fault" isn't the stretch people are making it out to be when the company they own is the one making the lawsuit.

No it doesn't.

If it was to do with Nintendo, Nintendo would get involved. Trust me.

Nintendo are the de facto owners of Pokemon and its related companies. They own the big share of all the parties involved in Pokemon. It's not far fetched to point out the Nintendo corporate culture imo

They are different companies and Nintendo doesn't have the majority stake in The Pokémon Company so yes, it is farfetched to point it out.

Chindogg