• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

LTTP: Castlevania Harmony of Despair

I have zero prior experience with the Castlevania games. They're much like the (2D) Metroids in that I've always admired them from a distance but never actually gotten my hands dirty with them. Fortunately, that's now come to an end with Harmony of Despair.

l80aQgL.png

I downloaded it from PSN without any real expectations. 40 hours and a vast majority of the available DLC later and it's turned out to be easily one of the most enjoyable things I've played for a good while. I suspect that not having touched any of the other Castlevanias has actually given me a greater appreciation for it, since I gather much of the content is 'inspired' by the other entries.

There's no sole element that makes the game such a success for me. It's a combination of the simple yet often challenging 2D gameplay, the fantastic level design, the gothic aesthetics and, of course, all that lovely loot.
gvUUf0X.jpg

There's something amazing about starting a stage and seeing... this.
The OST is superb. I know the tracks are predominantly just remixes from the other games, but as someone who's hearing them for the first time, they're a joy to listen to. Some prime cuts:

Lost Portrait
Gaze Up at the Darkness
Dracula's Castle
Ebony Wings

I've been almost exclusively using Shanoa and Charlotte, though I'm having much more success with the latter (Heal is a godsend for solo runs). Just finished clearing the DLC stages on Hard, which was my main remaining goal. I'll likely experiment with some of the other characters and go hunting for a few more rare items.

Once I'm done with Harmony of Despair, I plan on trying out some of the other entries. What's worth checking out? Bear in mind that handhelds and me don't get on.

JCV

Unconfirmed Member