• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Do you discuss your salary with your coworkers?

Do you discuss your salary with your co-workers

• Yes

Votes: 42 33.6%
  • No

Votes: 83 66.4%

• Total voters

ODESSA92

Neo Member
I am of the opinion that discussing salary with your co-workers can be to the detriment of yourself in pay negotiations. During pay reviews its often to the employer's advantage to falsely compare your current salary with others as an excuse to not raise your pay. Pay rises should be determined by the individual's merit and contributions to a company, and not denied simply because others are not on the same current salary as you.

BadBurger

Is 'That Pure Potato'
Not anymore. I did once at an old job and it turned into a big thing. I have a CS degree and a litany of certs. The other guy had like a Network+ and a MCSE, and was angry I got paid about $15k more than him. Or was it $20k? I forget.

So I just never mention it now.

Lasha

I am of the opinion that discussing salary with your co-workers can be to the detriment of yourself in pay negotiations. During pay reviews its often to the employer's advantage to falsely compare your current salary with others as an excuse to not raise your pay. Pay rises should be determined by the individual's merit and contributions to a company, and not denied simply because others are not on the same current salary as you.

Knowing what others are paid and being paid your value are not mutually exclusive. An employer paying everybody the same regardless of contribution should be a sign for you to explore the market. Leave for a new employer if you can make more money.

Shifty1897