• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

I have enjoyed Attack on Titan/My Hero Academia, what other anime’s should I watch?

mid83

I’m pretty new to the medium. I’ve been watching Attack on Titan and My Hero Academia and have enjoyed them so far. I’ve also enjoyed some old Gundum shows recommended to me on GAF earlier this year. It’s really changed my view on anime, which has been negative for most of my life.

What are some shows I should look into? I looked at Summer shows airing and most of them seem to be way out of my wheelhouse (lots of fan service etc...).

I have read some recommendations of watching One Peace or Naruto (but cutting out all the fillers). Those are super long shows but I’m willing to watch if either one is highly recommended.

I’m in my mid 30s if that has any bearing on recommendations.

Permanently A

Hunter x Hunter

its a long one, but its THE long one to watch. Its hard to give you any kind of clip because I don't want to spoil anything. Its basically about a boy who goes off to find his father who left when he was a baby.

In general, Cowboy Bebop is a highly recommend show for beginners as it has a very western vibe to it. Short too. Here's the opening of the movie which gives you a sense of what the anime is like: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owgu_DxlwVU

Samurai Champloo is also a great option. Here's a fight from episode 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzErUBYQZpI

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure

A common recommendation, but it's a great and funny action show.

Cowboy Bebop is also a classic, but not shounen. It's been described as a perfect gateway anime for good reason.

WaffleTaco

Wants to outlaw technological innovation.
Watch Naruto, Bleach, One Price. That way if you say you watch anime you can cover your basis.