• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Interview with Jeffrey Kalles (former Nintendo Employee)

koam

This is freaking long and I'm too lazy to bold, maybe later (plus I haven't read it all myself yet). Here's the source where you can listen to it instead of reading.

<Jonathan> Hello, and welcome to episode one of Leet Speak. I’m Jonathan Windle and I’ll be speaking with Jeffrey Kalles. He was formally an Associate Producer with Nintendo of America,

<Jeff> Yes.

<Jonathan> And now working for a company called Mobeliss.

<Jeff> Mobliss.

<Jonathan> Mobliss, two syllables.

<Jeff> Sure, I’m still learning myself.

<Jonathan> Yes, and he’s going to talk with us today about his time spent at Nintendo, along with other things.

<Jeff> Sure, whatever I can legally tell you.

<Jonathan> So, starting at the beginning, what made you decide that you wanted to work for Nintendo?

<Jeff> Oh boy. Boy, that was a long time ago, so I guess a little background is in order. I started at Nintendo eleven and a half years ago, so I was just out of High School, doing some pre-reqs at a local community college, trying to get those out of the way cheaply so that I could go to a four year school, and a friend of the family was working at Nintendo and I said ‘Boy, that sounds a lot more fun then that little retail job I’m working at the local mall. So I found out all of the hiring information and, you know, my weekends were spent renting games from the local video store and playing them all night anyway, so let’s see if we can turn it into at least a part-time job. Next thing you know, I’m at Nintendo and it turns into a career.

<Jonathan> Right.

<Jeff> *Police sirens in the background* I may have said something inappropriate already that the sirens are coming after me! The Nintendo Cops.

<Jonathan> Yes. So how old, exactly, were you when you started?