• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

LTTP: Prey "Underrated Game Of The Decade Edition"

Velius

Banned
Disclaimer: this is my first thread, ever. I don't know if I'm breaking any rules in this. I've read around and believe I am within the jurisdiction of GAF policy but if I am not, please know that it was not my intent, and I wish to share content in accordance with the community norms.

Decent sized read ahead. I hope you enjoy it!
1.png

Prey is the greatest game I never heard of. I started playing it this week and I have pumped hours and hours into it. I do not know how far into the story I am, but I can tell you that I love this game, which is easily a 9.5. And I almost, almost never got to play it. In the months leading up to its release I never batted an eye at it. Never looked at any articles for it, never watched the E3 trailer or any of the pertinent media that was subsequently released. Any time I saw it on IGN it looked like just another generic shooter. I knew so little about this project I didn't even know Arkane was the dev. If it hadn't been for Digital Foundry's GOTY list (Found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3_zc7iMPkU) I would never have played this game.

Once I started playing, I couldn't for the life of me figure out why this game was so underrepresented. Highest ranked version is 84% on Metacritic? Wat. I think I know why now, but we'll get to that later.