• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

LttP: Persona 4 - The Golden (no spoilers please)

I recently bought myself a Vita and paid an outrageous amount of money (seriously, I'm still kind of pissed) to import a 64GB memory card, since I could get it for the price of two 8GB memory cards at Australian retail. I can't even imagine that the memory cards were ever profitable for Sony, but I digress.

I had to take a sick day yesterday and in between coughing my lungs out and sleeping, I started playing Persona 4. This is my first experience with Persona, so I didn't know what to expect.

First off, the presentation is really slick. The sizzler movie that plays when you first boot up the game looked amazing and the colours really popped on the OLED screen.Then there's the music - it's thematically appropriate and catchy without being overly intrusive. I found myself humming the tune to myself yesterday until that made me start coughing again, so, yes, it's really good. Overall, it reminds me a lot more of The World Ends With You than of Shin Megami Tensei (I've only played SMT4 though)

I played on and off for most of the day, managed to rescue Yukiko and ace the midterm exams. Now I'm trying to rescue a very clearly closeted (hoo boy was this telegraphed from the get-go) guy named Kanji from a bath house themed dungeon full of (literal) bears in cop uniforms. I'm waiting to see if the upper floors of this dungeon are filled with winged creatures in cowboy outfits etc. and fill out the Village People motif. All the characters are too embarrassed to say that Kanji is gay, which is as much a 00s thing as it is a Japanese thing, so a lot of the hints are very on-the-nose. The "slender boy" he went on a "date" with appears to be voiced by a woman, so I hope that isn't a cross-dressing situation and things work out for him romance wise.