• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Elden Ring - 1st round of Closed Network Test previews

Bartski

Gold Member
Elden Ring Closed Network Test

Session 1 - 12th November 2021

Start Time:
  • North America: 3am PST / 4am MST / 5am CST / 6am EST
  • UK/Ire: 11am GMT
  • Europe: 12pm CET / 1pm EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 8pm JST / 7pm AWST / 10pm AEDT
End Time:
  • North America: 6am PST / 7am MST / 8am CST / 9am EST
  • UK/Ire: 2pm GMT
  • Europe: 3pm CET / 4pm EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 11pm JST / 10pm AWST / 1am AEDT

Session 2 - 13th November 2021

Start Time:
  • North America: 7pm PST / 8pm MST / 9pm CST / 10pm EST
  • UK/Ire: 3am GMT
  • Europe: 4am CET / 5am EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 12pm JST / 11am AWST / 2pm AEDT
End Time:
  • North America: 10pm PST / 11pm MST / 12am CST / 1am EST
  • UK/Ire: 6am GMT
  • Europe: 7am CET / 8am EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 3pm JST / 2pm AWST / 5pm AEDT

Session 3 - 13th November 2021

Start Time:
  • North America: 11am PST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST
  • UK/Ire: 7pm GMT
  • Europe: 8pm CET / 9pm EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 4am JST / 3am AWST / 6am AEDT
End Time:
  • North America: 2pm PST / 3pm MST / 4pm CST / 5pm EST
  • UK/Ire: 10pm GMT
  • Europe: 11pm CET / 12am EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 7am JST / 6am AWST / 9am AEDT

Session 4 - 14th November 2021

Start Time:
  • North America: 3am PST / 4am MST / 5am CST / 6am EST
  • UK/Ire: 11am GMT
  • Europe: 12pm CET / 1pm EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 8pm JST / 7pm AWST / 10pm AEDT
End Time:
  • North America: 6am PST / 7am MST / 8am CST / 9am EST
  • UK/Ire: 2pm GMT
  • Europe: 3pm CET / 4pm EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 11pm JST / 10pm AWST / 1am AEDT

Session 5 - 15th November 2021

Start Time:
  • North America: 7pm PST / 8pm MST / 9pm CST / 10pm EST
  • UK/Ire: 3am GMT
  • Europe: 4am CET / 5am EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 12pm JST / 11am AWST / 2pm AEDT
End Time:
  • North America: 10pm PST / 11pm MST / 12am CST / 1am EST
  • UK/Ire: 6am GMT
  • Europe: 7am CET / 8am EET
  • Asia/Oceania: 3pm JST / 2pm AWST / 5pm AEDT


Previews BLOWOUT:














 
Last edited:

Kuranghi

Gold Member
Yeah where DID all these people come from? 🤔

edit - This will make no sense to you if you weren't here right when the stream started. Now my post is pointless pretty much, please forgive me.
 
Last edited:

Bartski

Gold Member
hud looks weird wtf??????????


 
Last edited:

ANDS

Thought gaf was racist. Now knows better, honorary gaffer 2022
Wait a minute. Folks are not only playing, but there is no NDA? That is wild.
 

Draugoth

Member
Spoiler Free Information:

  • Make sure you pick your class wisely, the demo is HUGE and you don’t have time to run through multiple times on all classes.
  • The gameplay loop is to explore, defeat some enemies, gather equipment and revise your build based on your findings
  • This isn’t Dark Souls 4. This is souls gameplay and systems with increased RPG elements and exploration
  • ALL of the info from the demo is on the ER Wiki and you can visit it now (all weapons, armor, spells, npcs, secret locations and unlockables, etc)
  • Builds are incredibly more varied thanks to skill swapping, spirit summoning and the new upgrade system
  • Open World is fun but expect more Dragon’s Dogma than Red Dead Redemption
  • The Spirit Steed is agile and useful, but mounted combat is frustrating for melee classes
  • The landscape hides secrets so kill everything and explore everywhere, but remember From won’t give you the full version of them yet
  • Defeating Bosses with friends is still awesome and multiplayer is working well
  • There are some performance issues that need to be ironed out for launch
  • There were some minor bugs. Make sure you report any bugs you find!
  • The Legacy Dungeons are the older version of Dark Souls 3 but with a lot more enemy groups. Very multiplayer friendly
  • This article has minor spoilers for the names of bosses already seen in trailers. It’s otherwise a safe full read!
  • See our Classes page and Things you Must Know articles for more in-depth info
Menus look great:

 

playXray

Member
Spoiler Free Information:

  • Make sure you pick your class wisely, the demo is HUGE and you don’t have time to run through multiple times on all classes.
  • The gameplay loop is to explore, defeat some enemies, gather equipment and revise your build based on your findings
  • This isn’t Dark Souls 4. This is souls gameplay and systems with increased RPG elements and exploration
  • ALL of the info from the demo is on the ER Wiki and you can visit it now (all weapons, armor, spells, npcs, secret locations and unlockables, etc)
  • Builds are incredibly more varied thanks to skill swapping, spirit summoning and the new upgrade system
  • Open World is fun but expect more Dragon’s Dogma than Red Dead Redemption
  • The Spirit Steed is agile and useful, but mounted combat is frustrating for melee classes
  • The landscape hides secrets so kill everything and explore everywhere, but remember From won’t give you the full version of them yet
  • Defeating Bosses with friends is still awesome and multiplayer is working well
  • There are some performance issues that need to be ironed out for launch
  • There were some minor bugs. Make sure you report any bugs you find!
  • The Legacy Dungeons are the older version of Dark Souls 3 but with a lot more enemy groups. Very multiplayer friendly
  • This article has minor spoilers for the names of bosses already seen in trailers. It’s otherwise a safe full read!
  • See our Classes page and Things you Must Know articles for more in-depth info
Menus look great:

Thanks for this. I haven’t played Dragon’s Dogma - could you elaborate on what other games the open world structure might be similar to?
 

22:22

Doesnt need recognition
Just took a combined peak of maybe 40 (okay maybe 80 seconds lol, i want to go in as blind as possible) seconds skipping around Vaat's video he just uploaded and... Wow.. Holy mackerel! Just amazing...

Now to get a PS5 😰😅
 
Last edited:
Skill Up has a great discussion of how the game can be made easier for players. Starts around 16:35 or so:

I'm so happy magic is viable again. I don't care if it's considered "easy" mode. Sometimes the frustrating difficulty is just too much.
 
Last edited:

GermanZepp

Member
From Vandal Spain:

Conclusions

As you can see, the new FromSoftware has us excited and we are increasingly clear that it is going to be one of the best games of next year. A title that starts from the base of Dark Souls to evolve it and take it to a new terrain with an open world that makes exploration a real pleasure, but without forgetting the challenging and exquisite combats that have taken the study to the top of the industry, as well as its spectacular level design. We still have a lot to see and play to be able to assess it properly, but if we can assure you something is that after this first contact, the wait until February 25 is going to be much harder. Will it become another Hidetaka Miyazaki masterpiece? We will find out very soon.
 

Draugoth

Member
Here is all Previews:

Japanese Videos:

 

ANDS

Thought gaf was racist. Now knows better, honorary gaffer 2022
dragons dogma open world? that wasnt exactly a ringing endorsement.

What?! DD's open world was fantastic. Story was shit, but the world itself and encounters in it are fun as hell.

Damn, people playing longer than 6-10 hours, huh. Just repeating missions or is the beta that extensive?

Likely they weren't on the same timer as the public open beta.
 
Last edited:

rofif

Gold Member
Looks glorious !
Even ps4 version is fine. I don't give a shit about microstutter. Bloodborne always felt great to me and at least it was very responsive 30fps.

I will play this either on pc or ps5 not sure yet. PS5 is 60fps 1440p ?
 

ANDS

Thought gaf was racist. Now knows better, honorary gaffer 2022
Looks glorious !
Even ps4 version is fine. I don't give a shit about microstutter. Bloodborne always felt great to me and at least it was very responsive 30fps.

I will play this either on pc or ps5 not sure yet. PS5 is 60fps 1440p ?

Current generation consoles are 4K dynamic or fixed depending on the mode chosen. Hopefully we get an option to play at a locked 30 (if not, PC it is).
 

rofif

Gold Member
Current generation consoles are 4K dynamic or fixed depending on the mode chosen. Hopefully we get an option to play at a locked 30 (if not, PC it is).
ah, so 60fps and dynamic res. Either worse or better dynamic. Yeah. Makes no sense without 30fps mode. I never
 

Aesius

Member
I've beaten DeS, DS 1-3 + all DLC, and Bloodborne + DLC. But this will be my first ever FromSoftware game that I'll start at the same time as everyone else. Super excited for that community feeling and sense of discovery at the same time as everyone else.
 

Clear

Member
I dunno, I really don't. I should be more excited for this than I am.

The fundamentals look really good, but I find it all quite charmless and overly familiar for some reason.
 

Haggard

Member
The praise for gameplay and design is real...the more i see of the game the uglier the graphics look, though.

Everything looks so desaturated and flat because shadows are missing everywhere. I hope that the promised RT features include a thorough RT GI implementation with more actively shadow casting light sources...though that may be too ambitious for the likes of From Software/Bandai Namco.
 
Last edited:

ParaSeoul

Member
The praise for gameplay and design is real...the more i see of the game the uglier the graphics look, though.

Everything looks so desaturated and flat because shadows are missing everywhere. I hope that the promised RT features include a thorough RT GI implementation with more actively shadow casting light sources...though that may be too amitious for the likes of From Software/Bandai Namco.
It looks good.
 
Top Bottom