• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Writing in games that makes you uncomfortable.

So I just started playing the first Trails In The Sky game and, while I'm enjoying the rest of the game, (mild beginning spoilers here)
the game keeps pushing a romance between Estelle and Joshua and it legit disturbs me. I know they're not related by blood, but Joshua keeps calling Cassius his dad and Estelle even says she looks at him as family. I do not like this thread, not one bit.

So what about you GAF? What games make your skin crawl with their writing, intentionally or unintentionally?

Inuhanyou

Believes Dragon Quest is a franchise managed by Sony
I have a pretty high tolerance for pretty much anything.

Except when it comes to relegating women to weak roles. I hate that shit more than anything.

*EDIT*

and i forgot about Persona 4's sickening treatment of gay people. Just no. Yosuke, no, its not funny.

Everything related to the Murderess in Xenoblade X. Well not her specifically, she's awful but that's the point, the problem I have is the characters around her never seem to actually react to the fact that
she repeatedly kills people, there's even a sidequest where you "prove" her innocence that she never killed anyone, despite all the other sidequests saying and showing the opposite

pashmilla

Banned
Persona 4's treatment of Kanji and the girls can sometimes be reeeeeeally >.>. Especially Kanji, yikes. Like, I know most of it is through Yosuke who's a dumbass anyway, but the game never really calls him out on it either, so you have to sit through stuff like the tent scene and it's just profoundly uncomfortable and gross. Ick.

Dusk Golem

A 21st Century Rockefeller
Dear Valerie,
Did you think you'd get away with it?
Did you take delight in thinking to yourself, "Oh, let's try a fast one
on dumb ole' Simon!"