• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

BBQ GAF - Smokin' Your Meat, USA Style

Austin_Franklin_BBQ_Aaron_Franklin_ch_2011_58142.jpg_693_471_0_80_1_50_50.jpg

franklin-bbq-brisket.jpg

Weber-Silver-One-Touch-22.5-Inch-Grill.jpg

So I haven't seen one solid thread dedicated to the wondrous magic of BBQing. Not talking about just chucking some meat on a gas burner, but charcoal / coal / wood BBQing

I'm still relatively new to the art of Barbecue, and being Australian we are brought up on gas burners and hotplates, not coals and grills. Fixing this massive hole in my foodzone, I bought my first Weber One Touch 4 months ago, and have been researching & grilling since. I imagine by knowing how many food obsessives are on GAF that there's be a pretty good collection of BBQers amongst us. Whilst on a road trip through the USA early last year, I really caught the bug. Franklins BBQ in Austin Texas was great, but we got there too late to have any real choice, and The Joint in New Orleans was incredible. Anything that revolves around spending up to 12 hours watching something do nothing is alright with me.

Some Favourites thus far;

Pulled Pork: One of the first things I tried, I started off smoking a Pork Shoulder for 9ish hours, which was a huge success.

Home Made Bacon: Making bacon was like finding the key to the magic castle. So easy and unlike any bacon i've had before. Brined it for 3 days, rested for a day then smoked it with apple wood. Have done it with and without Nitrites, but havent tried my Nitrite version yet, but it stayed much pinker. People lose their mind when they try it.