• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Quitting a crappy retail job.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've never quit a job before. My previous two jobs I was let go for both non-firing reasons (I was seasonal and they didn't keep me, the other was as a school tutor and I graduated so I was no longer allowed to be employed). I work a crappy retail job and they've already made my schedule for the next two weeks. The new job I've managed to land wants me to start this monday. I told him I wasn't sure what my current managers would want me to do, and that I would get back to him tomorrow.

Am I required to do a two weeks notice even in a retail job? I really hate the management and the company, but I still would feel kind of bad about just quitting without someone to replace me. On the other hand I don't care that much and someone else can take my hours, although there aren't that many associates in my dept to begin with. I also have 11.54 vacation according to my paycheck. I don't know whether this is days or hours or what because it doesn't actually say. I've heard that the company may require me to pay those back or something ridiculous like that.

What do I do GAF?

1. don't ever burn any bridges. always give a 2 week notice
2. you really shouldn't ever quit a job unless you already have another job or source of income no matter how shitty the job is

lush

Tell them when you start your new job, they'll understand/deal with it. Generally you'd want to give a two weeks notice, but fuck it, you found a new job so you can get another reference from there.

krae_man

I don't know what the laws are where you live, but where I live there's no such thing as "Two weeks notice". Employees are not legally required to give any notice. Where you live is probably the same unless you signed some sort of contract committing to a term or something.