• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

26 Week Worldly Cooking Challenge

Status
Not open for further replies.

zbarron

Hi everybody!

I'd like to step up my cooking game and if you would too this thread is for you. I'm by no means a professional and don't even have a fully stocked kitchen but I do enjoy cooking and would like to do some new things in the kitchen. I wanted to do a 52 recipes in 52 weeks type challenge but then I'd have to wait 6 months. Being the impatient person I am I decided to go for a condensed version. Maybe if this takes off we can do a full 52 in 2015.

On to the challenge itself: The challenge is to do 26 recipes in the last 26 weeks of the year. It's always fun exploring the cuisine of different cultures and I'd like to keep a weekly theme so I decided to do a new country every week starting July 1st. I did countries with national holidays in those weeks. You can choose any country listed in the week we are currently doing and in week 16 do anything you want. I apologize if any country is missing, in the wrong spot or any other inaccuracy. Feel free to correct me in the form of replying or preferably by PM. I'll edit the OP as soon as I can.

I want this to be an inclusive challenge meant more to actually help us grow as people and less getting in the way of our everyday lives. The recipes can be anything from the countries listed; breakfast, lunch, dinner, appetizer, entree, dessert, drink, etc. On the other hand to keep this thread engaging and fun I'd ask everyone to post pictures and recipes if possible.

WEEK 1:
Burundi
Canada
Rwanda
Somalia
United States
Cape Verde
Venezuela
Cayman Islands
Solomon Islands

WEEK 2:
Palau
Bahamas
Mongolia
São Tomé and Príncipe
Montenegro
New Caledonia
France
Wallis and Futuna
St. Martin
St. Pierre and Miquelon

WEEK 3:
Iraq
Colombia
Belgium

WEEK 4:
Egypt
Liberia
Peru

WEEK 5:
Morocco