• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Updated Nintendo Patent For Modular, Customisable Control Options - 8/2016

maxcriden

Update: likely this is not of any relevance, sorry. Please see posts #13 and 15.

--

Original post:

(Ok, I searched and I'm not very good at this patent thing so hopefully there isn't already a thread. :/ I tried, though. Go easy on me if I missed it.)

Patent here.

From Nintendo Life's article (the full title is "Updated Nintendo Patent For Modular, Customisable Control Options Gives Another Spin on NX Reports"):

Another long-running Nintendo patent has been updated and made available to the public, which portrays a similar idea. Previously submitted in late 2013 and published in early 2014, the just-published update portrays an assortment of controller attachments that can be placed into the device with a notable degree of freedom.

As you can see in the initial images below, in its simplest form (mimicking the similar patent that emerged in the past week) it allows a bespoke control option to be added in a modular way on the top right of the device.

original.jpg

original.jpg

Some further images are interesting; the following indicate variations of more control options that can in theory be swapped in, included sets of three and four buttons.

http://www.nintendolife.com/news/20...trol_options_gives_another_spin_on_nx_reports (source:Reddit, also via GoNintendo.com)

--

Recent relevant thread: Nintendo Patent Application - Accessory and Information Processing System

What are some interesting control configurations you'd like to see this lead to?

Neoxon

If the detachable controller parts are indeed for two players rather than just one controller split in two, this would get around the D-Pad issue for the left side. Plus this would allow for analog sticks at home & circle pads on the go.