There is a warning to that end when you disable online, yes.I took me several attempts to log in on PC this morning so I could get another hour of downloading in before work.
I'm curious when the servers recover does a player's online progress reset as promised by ubisoft when you disable the online options in game? Anyone?
I have not bought WD yet myself. But just to be clear, is this problem also happening for everyone who bought the Steam version too?
Ubisoft forced the Uplay client onto those who have the Steam version as well.
Patching is handled by Steam, which is a vast improvement, but you are still shackled to Uplay.
Long time between now and then for Uplay to die.
We can only dream.