• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

The GAF Video and Filmmaking Thread

Thraktor

Given the popularity of the photography threads here on GAF, and particularly the emergence of affordable video-capable DSLRs, I thought it would be worthwhile setting up a similar thread to see what sort of talent there is on GAF on the video/filmmaking side of things. I'm an absolute beginner myself, having recently picked up a Canon 550D, so I'm eager to learn from whomever's out there who wants to contribute.

As I'm doing the OP, I thought it would be worthwhile to set it up as a sort of repository for links to articles, guides, tutorials, etc., for anyone who's looking to learn. I'll start off with an article I came across recently, and if anyone has anything else they think is worth reading, let me know and I'll edit it in.

Articles, Tutorials, Tips & Tricks, etc.

Which “Video DSLR” to buy? - philipbloom.net
A great starter guide to the pros and cons of the different video-capable DSLRs out there, essential reading if you're looking into buying one of them. Philip Bloom's blog itself is also well worth reading for news and articles on video DSLRs.
Recommended by me.

takezer0.com
Loads of cheap filmmaking tips, from lighting to storytelling to editing.
Recommended by MetalAlien

Celtx
Free screenwriting software with built-in production tools.
Recommended by Mr. Snrub

Film Riot
Good resource for DIY filmmaking, including tutorials and reviews.
Recommended by Mr. Snrub

Freddie Wong
A GAFer, apparently, with some great videos as well as tutorials and behind the scenes videos.
Recommended by Mr. Snrub

Corridor Digital
A GAFer, definitely, who made the Modern Warfare: Frozen Crossing fanfilms, with behind the scenes and tutorial videos.
Made by Okin

CheesyCam.com
How tos and reviews for cheap VDSLR gear.
Recommended by Fidelis Hodie

DVXuser.com