• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

It's No Longer Xbox, but Microsoft Gaming Report Says

mansoor1980

Gold Member

MV5BN2QwZThlYjktNjJjNi00OTJjLTg3NGUtMDQxMGQzZGY0MmVkXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTk3OTMzOA@@._V1_.jpg

Last edited:

AV

We ain't outta here in ten minutes, we won't need no rocket to fly through space
"Report"? Didn't we noticed this a while back now?

DavJay

Leadership at Xbox is dead. I’m no expert but it doesn’t seem that hard. Bring every old 360 call of duty on Xbox and rack in more subscribers. Don’t make CoD available on game pass day one. Give an option for GPU members to buy new CoD at a discount say $40 instead of giving it away and make no profit. MS was clearing lying when they said Game Pass is sustainable.

It makes a lot more sense with their publishing, "platformless" strategy. The only reason Xbox makes sense as a brand is if they're selling first party hardware. The brand name has been completely tarnished the last decade, so there isn't much to lose there. Microsoft gaming means third parties can sell their own branded devices and Microsoft can continue pushing their subscription and cloud service. It also allows them to keep around Xbox as a small part of their overall strategy, probably the "premium" segment, but with far less focus. If Xbox does well, great. If it continues to fail, they can slowly shut it down and erase all traces of Xbox from the company's DNA without people losing their minds by closing up shop in a hurry.

SHA

Smart decision, segmentation will cause confusion let alone the conflict on the internet, that's not stupid at all, trolls will stfu cause most of us are on the pc side.

Last edited:

ToadMan